We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allan Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allan Court Motel
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

If only all motels were like this! We found it by chance on the internet and certainly weren't disappointed. In fact we were not only pleasantly surprised by the location (so convenient for everything you would need, such as supermarket, restaurants, shopping in the town centre, and the university) but the room we had was superb. Its ground floor location was secluded and had everything you would need for a short stay (we stayed for 3 nights). As well as a large lounge/kitchen and bedroom the bathroom had a separate toilet, as well as new shower and sink fittings.

The room was also serviced daily and kept extremely clean. The owners were so helpful in pointing out the main attractions in Dunedin and providing us with other information we requested. There is also free secure wifi included in the price, something other hotels/motels should bear in mind when considering the services they provide, and a laundry with no charge for using the washing machines.

A definite place to return to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    38
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
53
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spent the week here for a mix of business and pleasure. Spotless accommodation, roomy (separate bedroom, lounge/kitchenette, bathroom, separate toilet). Owners could not be more helpful. Laundry available. A generously sized continental breakfast available for just $10NZ (fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast) provided. Five minute walk into town, and loads of restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had a very pleasant 2 day stay. Owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was homely, clean and quiet. Nice little touches like sewing kit as well as umbrellas to use were really appreciated. So handy to the University and a short walk to central Dunedin.
Will stay again when next in Dunedin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We enjoyed staying here very much. The motel felt like it was brand new - shiney clean and kitchnette, bathroom and dining room areas had everything you needed and felt like home. I needed to plug my motorised wheelchair in at night to re-charge and the motel owners and staff were very helpful and let me do this in the garage. Great location - so flat and close to university, shops and the city. We recommend it wholeheartedly and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here in a one bed unit, it was light, clean and spacious and well equipped. The furnishings and fittings were of good quality and in good repair, although somewhat dated. The laundry facilities are modern and readily available.

It is conveniently situated for the university, which is a five minute walk away, and the town centre, 10-15mns walk. There is no attractive garden outlook. Our room looked out over the car park of the local estate agents, but this was clean and open and the room well insulated, so it posed no problem

We fully agree with all comments regarding the owners. They are exceedingly friendly and helpful and always willing to help out in any way, including with information and advice. They are a mine of very interesting information about Dunedin, a city of which they are clearly proud residents.

We would happily recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey_carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff could not do enough for us - in fact, it was hard to get them to stop talking sometimes!
We were booked in to this motel by my husbands work, he was there for work, so the 7 month old and I joined him.
Our room was spacious and clean, the kitchenette was fantastic. The loan of the high chair and baby bath were wonderful. We were offered to stay in the room up to 2 hours after usual checkout, after also being able to check in early. The free wifi was efficient and quick.
The ONLY complaint we have? That we had to go through the bedroom to get between the bathroom and the living area - past the baby we were trying to keep asleep. But in the big scheme of things, thats seriously trivial.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This motel was first class for a recent business trip to Dunedin. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and provided all that I needed during my stay. It is located on George Street so is convenient to town and especially some excellent restaurants and cafes. It is also very close to the University of Otago and all that it has to offer. Good off road parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie and Bill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#6 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Street Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allan Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Property: Allan Court Motel
Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing