We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but...”
Review of Allan Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allan Court Motel
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central but...”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Quite central but outdated bed covers, those thin scatchy sheets and worn out towels that we all love. Cheapest loo paper in the OECD. Lazy boy rocker from the 70's that someone probably died in. Surprisingly quiet. Charged $2 for tiny sachet of laundry powder. Depressingly tight. Charged $302 for two nights. Why not be generous in life? yolo

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allancourt, Owner at Allan Court Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi David T, thank you for sharing your views on our motel. We must acknowledge that we to have noticed a deterioration in the quality of the linen supplied to us by the laundry company. We have alerted them to our concern and hope this will soon be resolved.
The unit you occupied is an access unit and we find many people with disabilities appreciate the lazy boy - I can assure you no body has died in it!! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    41
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
56
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If it wasn't for the uni students doing the Haka at 3am most days in the adjoining carpark, this place wouldn't be too bad. The host/manager, Jeff went out of his way to ensure any problems are resolved. He was very friendly and agreed it was an unfortunate time of the year to be at that end of town due to the uni students. All windows/doors have double glazing so this helps to dull the noise. Lesson learned, if we go back to Dunedin at that time of year we will get accommodation at the other end of town.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 as it has the hot water system for the whole complex in one of the cupboards in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allancourt, Owner at Allan Court Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi 94retiedandhappy, thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. Yes, unfortunately orientation week in Dunedin North can cause issues with noise with the students celebrating the start of the university year. It is unavoidable and beyond our control. We are pleased you have drawn to our attention that you found that the hot water cylinder in the unit, which feeds 2 other units, was noisy - we will investigate. We acknowledge that the laundry was unusually busy, and are sorry you found it disturbing. We sincerely hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really. Spacious room with separate bedroom straight on to car park. Within walking distance of city centre and clearly popular with the business community judging by the number of regulars who seemed to be there. Despite main road position it's also very quiet. Very helpful owners too. Recommended and would return

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

It's been a couple of years since we were in Dunedin, but we were more than happy to return to the Allan Court. It's close to everything, well appointed with very friendly owners.

This visit was for a week.

The internet access puts my own broadband back in Sydney to shame and is seemingly unlimited and free.

If you're in Dunedin, why would you go anywhere else? A great place, and we will definitely stay there agin next time we're in town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. We were restricted to where we could go as we had my special needs sister with us so had to have somewhere wheelchair friendly and this fit the bill to a T.

The rooms were spacious, kitchen well stocked with utensils and the bathroom was amazing. It was close to everything including supermarkets, Cadbury factory, Octagon and main road in and out of Dunedin.

The hosts were brilliant and couldn't have been more friendly. The only thing that let this place down was the cleaning staff were rather rude and unhelpful but other than that I highly recommend this place for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodend, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After booking Allan Court because of its higher rating reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not let down. This is an exceptionally clean Motel with great rooms for families. We stayed a week and found it centrally located, with the Octagon in walking distance. This is the only Motel we stayed at on our trip around the South Island with free Wifi. Loved our stay and very friendly Staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliekarenryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

If only all motels were like this! We found it by chance on the internet and certainly weren't disappointed. In fact we were not only pleasantly surprised by the location (so convenient for everything you would need, such as supermarket, restaurants, shopping in the town centre, and the university) but the room we had was superb. Its ground floor location was secluded and had everything you would need for a short stay (we stayed for 3 nights). As well as a large lounge/kitchen and bedroom the bathroom had a separate toilet, as well as new shower and sink fittings.

The room was also serviced daily and kept extremely clean. The owners were so helpful in pointing out the main attractions in Dunedin and providing us with other information we requested. There is also free secure wifi included in the price, something other hotels/motels should bear in mind when considering the services they provide, and a laundry with no charge for using the washing machines.

A definite place to return to.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
George Street Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allan Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Property: Allan Court Motel
Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing