We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commodore Motel in Dunedin Review”
Review of Commodore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodore Motel
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The Commodore Motel in Dunedin is a good choice to pick when you want to stay in Dunedin. Checking in didn't take more than a couple of minutes and after that a guy came and showed us to our room and even helped turn on our heater for us! The rooms are clean, beds are tidy. In our room there is a flat screen TV with a DVD player, which some other Motels do not have so this is an extra! There is also internet access which is definatly great! They have a stove, microwave, bowls, spoons, cups etc. All your essentials you would need in a kitchen. We have come here a lot of times before and the service here has been pretty good. It's close to MCDonalds, KFC, the gardens and many other places. Definatly a great place to stay at. Highly reccommend! Definatly will come back again the next time we come back down to Dunedin!

Room Tip: Any room should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a six and three year old after completing the Central Otago Railtrail. Were given a lovely friendly welcome and efficient check in. They provided a HUGE box of toys and books for the kids who thought it was heaven. Reasonably priced laundry. When I asked for advice about a place to go for dinner they picked a great spot and booked it for us. Price good and Internet included. Our best motel stay yet. Only suggestion is that they put up a shelf in the kitchenette so we'd have somewhere to put our food provisions and kitchenette is compact. Loved the single drawer dishwasher too!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

If you need some where with space and comfort , then i would recommend the commodore , we were in Dunedin with my son who was going in to hospital the next day. The Commodore was able to provide us with a lovely two bedroom unit, we found the rooms very clean and tidy, the beds were warm and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed with every item you needed , lots of off street parking for the car, value for money Great, would be happy to recommend this motel to any one.

Room Tip: A room back a little from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaneo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

You guys are awesome. Friendly team. Nice tidy and clean rooms. Knowledgeable front desk staff. Your comfy beds meant a great sleep which we badly needed.... Appreciated the room and car rental package! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend your facilities to ANYONE. Until we meet again. - Martin and Linda

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

we loved staying at Commodore 932 Cumberland street Dunedin , very friendley staff huge rooms!! big spa bath just feels like home!!! very happy with service and very reasonable prices for great rooms!! we really can complain at all :) will be sure to come back and stay here next time we travel to dunedin

will be back for sure!
Thanks to all the staff at Commodore:)
Gemma & Aaron

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma Barr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

very welcoming and clean and tidy.Nice room with spa bath and good views.excellent price today vai wotif.lovely furniture with a comfortable couch and bed!!!!Great parking space , no trouble finding the place.Sunny today nice bright room.

Room Tip: get the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Very friendly. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and without knowing this she gave us a free. upgrade with a great view and spa. Nothing was too difficult. Very knowledgeable of the city and gave us great useful advice of places to see and do. The room was clean and lovely with everything you would want in a motel. Thank you would highly recommend

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Janelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Motel
Garden Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Motel

Address: 932 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £67 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is a 4 Star Qualmark quality assured Rated Motel which offers clean, comfortable, and modern accommodation. We have a great team of staff who are passionate about Dunedin and what it has to offer. Our selection of rooms is from the standard studio for 1 or 2 people, right through to large family room fully equipped sleeping up to 8. We are located on State Highway 1 at the north end of the city, just next door to Dunedin's famous Botanic Gardens. This is a fantastic place to let the kids blow off some steam. Affiliated with Dunedin's top golf courses with great advice to offer. Dunedin Hospital is a short walk, Otago University is 2-3 min. walk away, the ForsythBarr Stadium is a 20min stroll, and the Octagon is a 20min stroll. we offer the full package for your time in Dunedin. Come and stay and let the team at Commodore show you true hospitality Southern Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commodore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing