We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We came down to Dunedin at short notice and were delighted to get a booking so close to where we needed to be. We told Sandi we would be arriving very late at night but it was no problem for her. She left a welcoming note for our arrival, plus turned on the heating so the unit was lovely and warm. The plate of freshly-made and delicious chocolate cake was an unexpected surprise and a nice touch. The unit was near the street, but was quiet and easy to access. The beds were very comfortable and everything was well-appointed and very clean. Sandi was a delight to talk to when we officially checked in the following morning. We would have no hesitation in staying at the Manor Motel again and certainly recommend it to anyone who wants reasonably-priced and comfortable, quiet accommodation that is within 5-7 minutes drive to the centre of Dunedin and about 10 minutes to the uni campus etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    30
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
39
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Lovely welcoming host, spotless room, and a bit of a find for character accommodation. The studio unit is a converted ultra-large room with a magnificent, ornate plaster ceiling. Kitchenette tucked into bay window, small bathroom in another corner. Great for a night or two when you want to spend your money on other things :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A better welcome would be hard to find anywhere in the world!
The host 'Sandi' is a New Zealand treasure, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay so returned for another night after riding the Otago Rail Trail.
Our studio unit was spotless, really comfortable with plenty of room.
Not sure if we will make it back to Dunedin again but if we do then we'll be back here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We found this place through trip advisor, and the reviews could not be more spot on! Our 2 day stay here was excellent. We just popped in off the street and Sandi had a room ready and waiting for us. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which was exactly what we were looking for! Lots of room for us to spread out, and the perfect kitchen for making our evening meals and breakfast. Everything was extremely clean and well kept up. Sandi helped us get pointed in the right direction for things to see and do around town, then when we returned from our long day out, there were 2 huge pieces of chocolate cake waiting for us! Bonus! We would definitely recommend the Manor Hotel for anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizashell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in the Edwardian style studio unit - room 4 (with the corner bay window and superb decorative plaster ceiling). The management were very friendly and welcoming with a nice piece of cake and we enjoyed our stay. The unit has a moderate sized room with smallish separate toilet and shower. The kitchen is in the cleverly converted bay window "room". The driveway up to the motel is very steep and not suitable for very large vehicles and parking might be a squeeze, although there is street parking at the bottom of the drive. It's very good value for the location and for what is offered.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Great wee place, extremely helpful and chatty owner and just what we needed after a long drive from Central Otago on the spur of the moment AND the day after New Year's - so lucky to get a place, let along one so central and so good.

We even got a chocolate cake, how about that!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I needed to stay somewhere while my wife had surgery at Dunedin Hospital and a work colleague recommended Manor Motel. From the moment Sandi answered the phone when I made my initial enquiry I knew I would be in good hands. Nothing was too much trouble. I didn't know how long I would need to stay - "no worries; stay as long as you need". Shall I just have a studio unit as there would only be myself? - "don't be silly - you will need some space - I'll give you a one bedroom unit". And so on.... On arrival I was so warmly welcomed and, of course, there was the obligatory chocolate cake! Very yummy. Sandi swept me up and for the next 10 days looked after me like a mother. Fresh baking appeared regularly, towels were changed every day despite telling her there was no need, the heater would be turned on in the late afternoon if the day was a bit cooler so that I had a warm 'house' to come back to after my hospital visits. One day she collected up all my washing and I found it all beautifully ironed when I got back. And Sandi was always around to be a friendly ear and keen to hear updates on my wifes progress. OK, the motel isn't the latest, smartest, stylish one in Dunedin but sure leaves many others for dead for comfortableness, cleanliness, facilities, location and the number one hostess! Thanks Sandi for a GREAT stay. We'll be back to stay when we return for surgery followup.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gth0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#49 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#30 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#42 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western 555 On Bayview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Property: Manor Motel
Address: 22 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One km from the centre of Dunedin, Manor Motel is located just off the main road providing a great range of quiet fully equipped apartment style units with full cooking facilities and bathrooms. The units sleep 2 to 6 people in comfort, the operators provide a warm welcome and have local knowledge to assist you making the most of your time in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing