We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hospitality, warm, spacious and clean”
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a great 2 night stay at the manor motel. Our apartment was spacious, clean and affordable. The host is friendly and greeted us with home made muffins and advice on sites to see. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and it is well overpriced.units seem old and run down and needs updating.oil heater didn't heat up and had to use the spare portable oil heater which had its on off switch wobbly and hanging, barely working. Dunedin does get quite cold so for a good night sleep heating is important.Has 2 undercover parking spots under upstairs units but very small can barely squeeze your car in if its medium sized.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Manor Motel was one of the nicest places we stayed at in the South Island. It is within walking distance to the centre and other attractions (including the outstanding railway station), was spotlessly clean, had a lovely-positioned and well equipped kitchen, a very comfortable bed - and all for a reasonable rate. Our unit (studio 4) had the bonus of a beautiful ornate ceiling and chandelier. Sandi is a friendly and kindly host. She offered to do our laundry for a small fee. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for 4 nights. The location is excellent, quiet and yet only 15min walk from the centre of Dunedin - mostly undercover which is great when it is pouring down with rain!. There is plenty of parking, both off and on street. Sandi the owner is welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room we had was spacious, comfortable and clean. It had a full, well equipped kitchen. In addition free wi-fi was available which is always a benefit. Excellent value. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tandemtravelrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Clean, neat and tidy. Good heating (important in Dunedin). Super comfy bedding and plenty of blankets. Older style bathroom but it was clean and enough space. I was only planning on staying in Dunedin for 1 night but decided to stay for 2 and part of the reason was the accommodation. Off street parking. Good location (approx 1km walk into the Octagon/city centre). The host was extremely friendly and nothing was a hassle. The chocolate muffins on arrival were a nice touch and delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are not directly attached to the house and will be quieter vs. room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place was great! It was tucked away in an area that was not terribly busy (but still within very short driving distance to other Dunedin sites), with loads of free parking around. We only stayed for one night but our room was huge (2 beds, nice couch, TV, fill kitchen) and, as other reviewers have mentioned, the landlady is very, very nice and extremely helpful. She even gave us some tips about Queenstown, which would be our next destination (not to mention the chocolate cake!). Really excellent place -- highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night during a three week tour of NZ. Easily the highlight of all the hotels/motels we stayed in. Sandy is a lovely lady, very friendly and helpful. And yes she gave us two pieces of chocolate cake on arrival! Don't be put off by the outward appearance of the premises, the rooms are very well maintained, well equipped and comfortable. We had the best night's sleep here of our trip. We would definitely recommend this one as outstanding value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpaca1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#49 of 61 in Dunedin
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arcadian Motel
Arcadian Motel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Owens Motel
Owens Motel
#52 of 61 in Dunedin
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Address: 22 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One km from the centre of Dunedin, Manor Motel is located just off the main road providing a great range of quiet fully equipped apartment style units with full cooking facilities and bathrooms. The units sleep 2 to 6 people in comfort, the operators provide a warm welcome and have local knowledge to assist you making the most of your time in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing