We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Dunedin!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Dunedin!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a lovely hostel to stay in. The location is good, just a short walk from the city centre. The owners are lovely and give you a tour and point out on a map lots of things that you might like to do in Dunedin. I stayed in a dorm room which are a lot bigger than a lot of others I've stayed in and as others have mentioned, no bunks. The showers are a very good standard, lots of hot water and very clean! the kitchen and dining room can be a little busy at the rush periods but nothing to complain about! Really liked the stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    79
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
88
66
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located fairly close to city centre. You have to go uphill a bit, but it's not too bad. I was dropped off here by airport shuttle, otherwise I would have struggled to find it.

Facilities: Excellent kitchen, common room, TV lounge. Comfortable bed with power plugs near by.

Atmosphere: Nothing special really. There are no organised social events or anything like that, but there are plenty of common areas to chat with other backpackers.

Overall a really good hostel to stay at, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanik88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in a double room! Nothing fancy, but the room was clean.

There is a good sized kitchen for cooking (with gas and sharp knives) and the building has a nice charm with the 'Harry Potter' theme.

It's a short (but steep) walk to town (5 mins). The walk home is more difficult as its straight up a hill.

The staff were friendly and helpful, pointing out interesting things to do on the map.

The place has a homely feel to it with a nice fire place in the dining area!

No car park is a bit of a downer, but there is street parking close by.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Large, high ceilinged bedrooms with single beds and no bunks. It was cold in the bedroom at night but there were extra blankets provided and I was never cold in bed. Kitchen was large with plenty of cooking facilities and utensils. The sitting area was warm and cosy and had a wood burning stove which was kept stoked up all evening. There was also a cute little mezzanine floor with a sofa and an armchair if you wanted to get out of the way. Bathrooms were lovely and modern with fantastic powerful showers. Only 5 mins walk from the Octagon in the centre of Dunedin. No WIFI but this was typical of the South of the South Island, and you could get unlimited access in the nearby central library. The hosts were friendly and helpful and there was a warm and friendly atmosphere throughout this lovely hostel.

Room Tip: I stayed downstairs in room 4 which was very pleasant and there was no noise after about 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a very good hostel in Dunedin which is one of the nicest cities on the south island. The place is a little bit out of the town but very close to the Speight's brewery. It's also on a fairly quiet road so you should be able to get some sleep here.

The only issue I had was their expensive Zenbu wifi which is a really outdated system where charges are per 100 and 250MB! Hopefully most hostels will drop these soon and start managing there own wifi systems which they can make a lot more competitive and attractive to customers.

They have a good selection of DVDs which you can borrow for free and watch in the TV room.

The hostel is clean throughout. The kitchen is big enough to cater for all the guests and they have a small dining area which is cosy. Thankfully they use gas hobs in the kitchen so cooking will be fast.

Laundry service is very good here. Pay $8 and they will take all of your laundry. Wash, dry, fold it and return it to you.

They are also quite flexible when it comes to check in and will allow you to go to the room if the bed has been made up.

I would certainly stay here again if I was back in Dunedin and I've been recommending it to lots of other people while I have been travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hostel, can't say enough good things about it. Beautiful old space a short walk up the hill from Dunedin town center, heaps of information about local attractions, comfortable bed and very clean rooms and bathrooms. Plenty of fridge space in the kitchen, well-maintained and quality cooking space, and some nice hanging out spaces available like the reading loft over the dining area and a quiet outdoor porch. My one quibble was I wish they offered self-serve laundry, but they did at least have lines out back if you wanted to hang things to dry.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank cal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and found it by following a small backpackers sign driving through town. The hostel is across from St. Joseph's Cathedral and used to be the bishop's residence. It's only a short walk from the octagon. The dorm rooms had single beds, each with an individual shelf and lamp, and were very quiet. There were several bathrooms and showers on my floor. The facilities were excellent and the cleanest I've ever seen. The kitchen was large with plenty of cookware. The dining room, small reading area above it, and lounges were all equally comfortable. This was one of the best hostel's I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#4 of 44 in Dunedin
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel

Property: Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel
Address: 277 Rattray Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogwartz is a Backpacker Hostel with a wide spectrum of room types. Budget travellers enjoy their shared rooms with up to six beds (no bunks) or the private rooms with shared facilities. For those who prefer a little bit more privacy and luxury, they have a beautifully rebuilt, self-contained cottage (the Coach House) available with two en suite rooms and a shared full kitchen. And at the top end of the spectrum, there are two stylish, fully self-contained studio rooms (the Stables) to spoil yourselves with. Per person prices range from $26 to $58 per night, and there is some complimentary wifi at fibre-optics speed. Located a short distance uphill from the city centre, Hogwartz is a hostel for grown-ups: it is not suitable for party crowds or for small children (minimum age 12years). Free car parking is available on surrounding streets, and the walk into the Octagon takes roughly 5min. There are no gimmicks, no false promises here, just genuine quality accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hogwartz Backpacker Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing