We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location, but price is not set”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McFarmers Backpacker Lodge
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, but price is not set”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Be sure you agree to a price beforehand and tell everyone in your party. My wife was told one price over the phone when we reserved a room with a shared bathroom, but I was charged a different price when I went to pay. The owners are friendly, but this place is somewhat expensive for the services they provide. The father (one of the owners) said he would come back to light the wood stove to keep us warm overnight, but he never came back. Very average in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Self contained separate cottage on working sheep farm. Cozy and fairly sheltered from the winds that the albatross need for flight. Entire area is incredibly beautiful. Clean, good value, friendly owners. Good location for all Otago Peninsula sights including the Albatross Centere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our only complaint about this place is that we should have booked to stay longer! We stayed in the self-contained cottage and it was quaint and perfect. The cottage is homy with plenty of extras: toys if you have kids, reading material, suggestions for what to do, everything you'd need in the mini kitchen, and a cozy bedroom. The owners clearly love their little spot and everything is well attended to. The view from the cottage over the water is gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proffitt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
293 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

stayed in the cottage, amazing value for money. the 2 bedrooms you have to walk through 1 to get to the main bedroom. fairly cold but just about bearable. views overlooking port chalmers and the water. owner was really friendly, good location for lanarch castle, royal albatross centre and penguin place, close to dunedin too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and really didn't want to leave. The cottage is separate from the lodge and has great views and its own little deck. We loved the ability to be 'green' during our stay with recycling and composting available. I was really worried when I found out we were booked at a 'backpackers', but the cottage is very private and self-contained.

Room Tip: Rent the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindencraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

The lodge is a perfect base for the various activities on the Otago peninsula and served us well. It is close to Portobello where you can get get some food (I would steer clear of the cafe, overpriced and pretentious) and has great views looking out over the water. The price was also good and the owners friendly. Only downsides were no locks on the doors, a small room (with no spare electric sockets - one used for the tiny spotlight and one for the heater) and thin walls - when we stayed kids were in the room next door and were up early jumping on the beds / getting shouted at by their mother! There is also only one toilet / shower so can get unlucky.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrizzleMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We really liked the cozy cottage. Pleasant stay. Small village nearby. Nice to walk on the land with the scheaps. Very friendly owner. Most thinks were clean (like sheets ed.) but some hogh shelves were not cleaned for a long time. But we can defenitly recommend this place for its view and surrounding.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
6.3 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Eady's Lookout
Captain Eady's Lookout
#28 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#12 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McFarmers Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McFarmers Backpacker Lodge

Property: McFarmers Backpacker Lodge
Address: 774 Portobello Road, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Mcfarmers Backpacker Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing