We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunedin Palms Motel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Fantastic motel in a great location, very handy to the Octagon and away from the student area of North Dunedin. Rooms are well designed, the standard of furnishings is high, and as we were in a back unit away from the road we had no issues at all with noise.
All in all a great motel. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit at the back, will be quieter although there isn't much traffic in Dunedin to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We made a two-day stop here to visit Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula.
The hotel is conveniently situatedand easily located. Downtown Dunedin is within easy reach by foot and there is good access to the road, both to the Otago Peninsula and to Christchurch.
We stayed in the bigger of the two-room appartments, finding them spacious, comfortable and well furnished. We will stay here again next time we come to Dunedin, then taking more than a couple of days to venture onto Otago.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Great modern motel close to the centre of town and surprisingly quiet. I have been staying at this motel for a while now since moving from a noisy one that was not far from the city centre. Warm in winter and no noisy fan heaters to interupt your sleep. Managers are always friendly and obliging, rooms are always clean. Although I have not stayed in every motel in Dunedin I don't think you could beat this one for value and location.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room back from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstravellernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked one night here but were so knocked out by the quality of the room that we stayed for two. Top class in terms of design, condition and cleanliness. Great hosts. And within a few minutes walk of the centre of town with its attractions, museums, cafes, bars etc etc. Plenty of parking and good free wi-fi in our deal. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Firstly the hosts of the hotel were very nice and explained the room facilities to us. The room itself was clean and comfortable, but unfortunately as the location is close to the road and even though they have put double glazing on the windows to cut down the noise it was still quite noisy. Outside of putting a security awning on the window facing the road there does not appear to be much they can do. I would recommend asking for a room located towards the back of the complex where it would probably be less noisy

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Couldn't recommend highly enough. Staff were friendly welcoming and very helpful. The room exceeded our expectations, modern clean, comfortable and spacious. Great location, easy walk to city center and many activities and attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Arrived to find the spa pool unit we booked didn't exist, turned out to be a typo on the booking email which would be find if it weren't for the other issues. Room was incredibly hot, yet it was cool outside. Went to turn on the aircon to find it had none. We were forced to open even window in the unit which would have been ok but we were right on the road side and this made traffic noise unbearable.

Our second days stay our room wasn't restocked (milk, condiments etc), yet both nights are charged at the same amount of course. Why do we get less for our $ after our first night?

The room was clean tidy and well presented but a little small. An Ok place to stay but at the price it is not up to standard in my opinion. We often stay in motels in this price bracket and aircon, comfort and basic condiments are expected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedinpalmsmotel, Owner at Dunedin Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

On looking into your comments , Dunedin Palms Motel certainly does have an outside spa pool unit. Confusion was it can only be booked for 2 persons and your booking had 3 guests your infant . We do restock units daily with tea,coffee, soap etc and milk if required. We are sorry if this was missed . The units are not advertised as all having air conditioning but your room had a deducted fan through the ceiling with a switch at the door to turn on for temp control. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Palms Motel

Address: 185-195 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £79 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dunedin Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunedin Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Palms Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing