We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunedin Palms Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE 755 Regal Court Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
97 Motel Moray(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel on York(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cable Court Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwis Nest(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
239
117
23
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
117
23
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationspeights breweryrail stationsmall kitchenettetop floorcity centrehigh streetminute walkplenty of parkingdefinitely stay here againspa bathmodern roomscomfy bedone bedroom unitcleaning stafflate checkwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve - so it was quite a special evening and night. But the place was awesome - starting from great owners/managers through the room and kitchen equipment.
The interior design is subtle but really great - makes you feel like at home.
The quality of the room is high - you feel very cosy. We stayed on the ground floor, so our car was just outside the door - I can imagine that if you're upstairs it might be a bit more difficult to carry luggage though.
At the arrival we got plenty of tips on what to do in the town (it was Dec 31st!) and at departure - what to do in the next destination - so overall the place is worth recommending.
Ah, the supermarket is just outside, on the street or you can drive uphill for 2-3 kms to get to another one (and BP station).

Room Tip: I would say - ask for ground floor. First floor is good if you want to have more privacy though.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomekBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Three of us stayed in a one bedroom apartment here for one night and found it extremely comfortable. It was close to town, the room was clean, modern and very practical. Beds were comfortable. Not a lot of spare space in bedrooms or bathroom but that was not really too much of an issue. Some hooks behind the doors would have been good. The place appeared very busy and finding a carpark after coming back in the late evening was a bit of a problem. Numbered car parks would solve this problem. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dunedin Palms Motel has two storeys and we were on the second, accessible by stairs. Our room was light in the morning (from the east) and in the afternoon from the west.

The accommodation was good, with a fresh modern decor, black, gray, white and red, a good TV and comfy bed (with electric blankets, of course). The room was cosy/warm despite the 12 degrees or so outside and rain. The bathroom was well appointed with halogen mirror lights and an effective wall mounted blower fan.

We had a neat circular shower (slide back doors) with good water pressure, ensuring that water wasn’t sprayed all over the floor.

Kitchen sink, good kettle and fridge. In a quirky move the ironing board and iron were positioned under the bed, (we didn’t notice the wee notice at first on the desk that pointed this out).

Re every day shopping, best to drive up high Street to the shopping centre Countdown which has just about everything including wine and beer.

Re meals, it was a short walk to the dining and drinking hub of the City, namely the Octagon, perhaps 10 minutes or a bit longer. While there’s a buzz around the Octagon, the prices reflect the popular venues and it is cheaper to go beyond the Octagon and walk up a side street for a Turkish/Lebanese.

If you have business to attend to, don’t expect to find a handy supermarket or a post office to do basic scanning of documents, etc. Throughout NZ, we discovered that everyone goes to the local Warehouse Stationary outlet.

Room Tip: While we had to lug suitcases up the stairs to the second floor, the lighting afforded by the elevation was worth it, especially once the sun came out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraCSmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Being on our honeymoon/short getaway from Auckland, we were glad to be met with a very warm welcome from Liz and Malcolm. All dealings over the phone beforehand were very friendly and helpful and definitely made our decision to book in very easy. It was just like the photos we saw and it was clearly a modern and well-appointed place. Having just renovated our own house we were impressed to see such new and well-maintained amenities. We received very helpful tourist information from Liz as soon as we checked in without even needing to request for this! And she booked us on one of the attractions promptly which made things easy for us.

The only thing that could've made it even more convenient was a cooking hob although we knew this wasn't included in the facilities when we booked.

Thanks Liz and Malcolm!

Room Tip: I was told that there is very little view from any of the units so opt for a ground floor unit for easy access!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were only staying one night with our two teenagers on our way down to see some more of the South Island, but we all really enjoyed our brief stay. The suite was clean, tidy, comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_nz_halls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews