We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous welcome, super stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunedin Palms Motel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived in Dunedin after a bumpy and late flight from Brisbane. When we walked into reception we were greeted by an extremely knowledgable, friendly and helpful young lady who would grace any of the top hotel's concierge desks putting many of them to shame. We checked into our room, that was set up beautifully for us, and spent a very pleasant night. The facilities were good, the beds were comfortable, the wifi was free and fast and the service was great.

Room Tip: Order one with a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BillyBirdIBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 2 night during our recent visit to Otago & Southland and found the motel comfortable and clean. The hosts were most helpful and the property is well located to the centre of the city and close to restaurants and tourist spots (Octagon & Rail Station). We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a two bedroom apartment. The facilities are modern and accommodating and the Managers are very hospitable.
The rooms are clean and beds very comfortable, also free parking.
The motel is close to eating places and centre osf town and the octagon is near by. Well worth visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank KimoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I booked at this hotel based on the wonderful reviews. We paid $150/nite for three nights. We were in town for the funeral of my mother in law. Unfortunately we weren't given a room referred to in the reviews. We were given a renovated garage room down the hill, at the back of the property with a view of a wall, a musty smell and dank lighting. It has a pump to push the water and waste up the hill, which makes a grinding noise at any use, and there's a note beside a red lite warning not to use the toilet or run water if the light is on. Outside the room is a bunch of flower pots with dirt and cigarette butts. Obviously the smoking spot. It is a room that should not be rented ever especially at that price and when there are vacancies. Yes the owner showed us another room, smaller and with no storage. Besides we had unloaded the car so it was a pain to move especially with a funeral to arrange. Overall we can not recommend this hotel because we stayed the worst room on the property, we couldn't find one redeeming quality. It frustrates me to be disappointed like this, especially when we anticipated a nice place for the sad occasion.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Hopechc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely place to stay, new, clean and very friendly. Well catered for a family of 4. highly recommend. Close to center of town, shops etc. Lovely helpful staff who went out of their way to help. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom and it was perfect for us and two big teenagers!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Palms in Dunedin for 3 nights in May and loved every moment. I had booked a one bedroom apartment which was roomy enough for the two of us, had a great bathroom with an excellent shower and a very comfortable bed too. If you can afford the larger rooms do book as the studios did look a bit small, probably ok for a one night stay. Perfect location for the cbd attractions. The managers and staff were very friendly and helpful. We did the taieri gorge train trip while we were in Dunedin, it was great..We would recommend the Dunedin Palms to anyone staying in Dunedin. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: book a one bedroom apartment if staying more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When visiting Dunedin I stayed based on the reviews by prior reviewers. It was a very good experience. The check in process was efficient, the staff was friendly and also where the owners, the room looked new but was a little small, other wise was a very good hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murdochwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Palms Motel

Address: 185-195 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dunedin Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dunedin Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Palms Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing