We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly beautiful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunedin Holiday Park
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly beautiful beach”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed just a couple nights in our Rv. Nice facilities, deluxe BBQ, little play ground and trampoline. Honestly, we don't remember much about the park itself, but what a gorgeous surprise to walk up the sand dune and discover the most beautiful long empty stretch of beach! Kids and I walked way down to the left where there are big rock with tide pools and discovered a sleepy male seal up on his throne! He ignored us and we admired from a distance. Water was cold even for February so kids just ran in up to their knees. They had the best time running and playing in the sand.

We did the 3 hour round trip scenic train ride. Me and husband loved it, kids, not so much. 3 hours of gorges, bridges, valleys was about 1.5 hours too much for them.

Best hint: first stop on a big stop to stock up on Rv supplies I bought both kids a cheap folding scooter. Every night in the Rv park they burned energy by zipping around the camp area

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinamom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    114
    64
    19
    7
See reviews for
73
102
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stopped here just for one night as I had read somewhere they are dog friendly, not the case as dogs have to stay in the car!!!
We booked an ensuite cabin, it was warm, quite dated, basic but the double bed was sagging in the middle. Just over $70 a night ,we have had better value elsewhere so would not book here again and since found out there is other dog friendly accommodation in Dunedin.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mazandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinHolidayPark, Manager at Dunedin Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your review.
Our Holiday Park is classed as dog friendly as we allow the dogs to come into the park, many holiday parks, including the others in Dunedin will not even allow the dogs to stay in the vehicle.
We are in the process of updating the beds in these units.
Kind Regards
Dunedin Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in a campervan so not reviewing the rooms!!
+ve
Facilities - showers are good and around the site were lots of blocks, BBQ's and there is a shop outside
Location - Not far out of the centre and well connected via a bus that runs ever 30mins weekdays, and hourly on weekends, its not really walkable into the city centre. And right on the peninsula for all that has to offer. 2 beaches on the soorsteps as well.
Clean and tidy - Each spot has its own picnic bench and the ducks will amuse you.
-ve
The shower blocks were closed once at 5pm for cleaning, why can't this be done 11-3pm when everyone is out?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

just a short walk over the sand dunes and road is the beach. caters well for the family good clean sight good clean kitchen washers and dryers hot showers with great pressure staff extremely helpful internet cards we had a non powered site $34 NZ nice experience but a little over priced

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsons_110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

My husband and I spent a few nights at this holiday park. The first night we got a tent site which was a bit unimpressive (it's not really divided into sites so it's just where ever there is space on the lawn). The next few nights we got a basic cabin which was tiny but kept us dry in the rain. The kitchens (there are two) were fairly busy at mealtimes. Overall it's a clean park but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

If you are on a budget,maybe, stayed in an ensuite cabin, but we found the beds need to be replaced, very uncomfortable and sagging, the layout of the units is not very well set up, needs a fan for a bit of ventilation and to get rid of the stale smell. Would not recommend it to friends. Not the greatest location for accessing Dunedin attractions.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolumpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We (parents and teenage son) stayed in an ensuite cabin for two nights. The cabins are in a block of six and have an exclusive shared kitchen with tables. The room was satisfactory but would have been improved with a table rather than kitchen bar. The layout of the room wasn't the best - awkward dble bed placement; and TV on top of cupboards. The camp has 4-star-plus rating but we feel it deserved a 4 at most. Lots of murals around the camp definitely gives it a lift - I can imagine younger kids yelling 'I want the Spongebob cabin!!'. The next time we stay in Dunedin we'd probably look for a hotel in town - mainly for convenience to be able to walk around the city centre without driving in. While we would probably choose somewhere else to stay next time, I could recommend this place to a family looking for a cheapish and comfortable motorcamp.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzdavid2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
280 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
3.8 mi away
Leith Valley Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Holiday Park

Property: Dunedin Holiday Park
Address: 41 Victoria Road | St Kilda, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunedin Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunedin Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing