We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - short drive to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunedin Holiday Park
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location - short drive to the city”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We opted for this park based on the central location - it was a short drive back to the city to eat out and enjoy the local brewery. The facilities and customer service were good.
Unfortunately we didn't spend a lot of time in Dunedin to get full use of the facilities, but I would recommend it for campervans.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    113
    64
    18
    7
See reviews for
72
102
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I would come back to this park tomorrow it was fantastic. We were in a motor home but all the services were there that we needed. Lovely hot showers, great camp kitchen, great washing machine and dryers, very friendly and helpful staff and kids enjoyed the tv areas and Wi Fi. Yes it was busy but it was NZ school holidays so you have to expect that. It is just out of Dunedin so you are away from the hustle and bustle and close to the beach with easy access for exploring the bays, loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otatara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our motel was clean and provided everything we needed. When we arrived the park was full of what appeared to be a visiting school rugby team. Coming from a very quiet rural location we thought we would be in for a rowdy night. We were surprised to have a very good nights sleep.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

For the fee paid NZD45, we got a very tiny cabin which was filled with strong uncomfortable freshener smell. After staying at so many holiday parks, this was the only park that closes their kitchen after 9pm. This was very inconvenient as we might need to get drinking water. Bathroom water pressure was low, not sufficient for a nice bath after a long day. All facilities was rather old.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

When passing through Dunedin for one night we made camp at the park after looking at the brochure saying close to beach, restaurants and shopping. Not the case apart from the beach which no one will use in winter. The shops were a substantial walk towards town and shopping was really in town, a $36 round trip in a taxi. With the weather wet and cold we were looking forward to their hot showers to only find no hot water even after waiting 10min for the hot water to come through the pipes. Dreaming they are, as we waited and waited for that elusive hot shower as advertised on their brochure. I think the place is overrated and we won't be staying there ever again. The good points of the park, well there was power for our van and not much else really. We enjoyed dunedin though with dinner at great taste buffet and a movie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Micke1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed two nights at a powered site and were still able to use all of the parks facilities. The communal bathrooms and kitchen/dining area was in one building which was handy to us. The playground was well used by our children. Price was good. Dairy/Takeaway shop at gate. Short walk to St Kilda Beach. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinHolidayPark, Front Office Manager at Dunedin Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park.

We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that your children enjoyed the playground and you found our location and facilities handy.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a studio motel for two nights. Great value for money, comfy bed, well equipped kitchenette, great shower, flat screen TV with freeview and super clean. Our host was super friendly and gave us some great information and advice on what to see and do for our two days. The Park has got a great theme with their murals and bits and pieces around the place for kids and adults to see and experience. We thought it was well laid out and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrattiesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinHolidayPark, Manager at Dunedin Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to see some of the wonderful things Dunedin has to offer.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Holiday Park

Property: Dunedin Holiday Park
Address: 41 Victoria Road | St Kilda, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunedin Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunedin Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing