We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Good Oil Cafe

The Good Oil Cafe
Ranked #34 of 326 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More than I expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Quick lunch with Mum after shopping, lovely service and the meals were lovely! Freshly cooked, oodles of bacon on the chicken burger and my Mum ate all the pumpkin risotto!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

An unpretentious cafe which offers great tasting food and decent coffee, all served by attentive and well trained staff. This cafe is generally busy when open but it still manages to give a relaxed and friendly ambiance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I make a point of stopping by here for breakfast whenever I'm in Dunedin. Hash kumara with salmon and eggs never fails and it's a highlight of my trip. Great coffee and friendly service. Always good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best and most consistent coffee in Dunedin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

When you are spending between $3 - $5 per coffee, you expect it to be good everytime. The good oil has delivered this to us for the last 4 years! We are loyal customers and it's about time we did a review to share our opinion. The coffee is strong, the milk is silky and always spot on temperature wise. The owner is lovely and chatty everytime we visit and the staff are well trained. The cabinet food is also delicious - the savoury muffins are the best in Dunedin and extremely more-ish. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The small, busy cafe was a wonderful find near our hotel for breakfast. Service was efficient, and the food was great. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AZgirl4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Good Oil Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to The Good Oil Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing