We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On high” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highbrae Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highbrae Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“On high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Nice spacious rooms with comfy beds.
Not to far out of main part of Dunedin,but be aware of the climb, it is in High Street after all ( on the plus side- great view).
Owners very helpful and knowledgable about area

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your insightful comments. We appreciated your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The B & B is located just at the edge of the city centre. It's surprisingly quiet at night. The room is spacious, warm and comfortable. The furnishings match the house very well. Every detail has been attended. It's like you have travelled back to the beginning of 19th century.

Stephen the host is very kind and accommodating and considerate. He offered us one extra room for my daughter with a small cost. The breakfast is typical kiwi style and plentiful. We were also glucky enough to have the bread freshly baked by Stephen.

Stephen REALLY knows the history of Dunedin. He also has quite a collection of the paintings and books about the city. I guess he knows the stories of all of the houses on High Street.

We totally enjoyed our stay at Highbrea Guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for the kind review. It was great having you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This turn of the century styled B&B is charming in and out, with rooms and common areas nicely decorated. The beds/bedding are very comfortable with an electric blanket for those cold nights. Rooms in general were on the cold side since they seem to be heated by space heaters only. Breakfast was included, and the selection (fruit, cereal, yogurt, bread/toast, eggs/ bacon, etc.) was substantial. Some other things to consider:

(1) The Highbrae sits at the very top of the hill on High Street, nearly a kilometer away from the center of town, so walking there with luggage is not a good option. However, the owner will pick up from the Railway Station if you arrive by bus, which is a nice plus. Even without luggage, the walk up and down the hill is a bit of work, but there is bus service along the street.

(2) The place is a bit quiet and sedate, I think geared more toward an older crowd.

(3) I think most of the rooms are shared bathroom, and there is only one of those on the second floor. While I was there, it was not full, so this was not a problem. However, if all of the rooms were booked, then there might be a bit of a traffic jam in the morning.

Otherwise, I think a nice, quiet option in Dunedin.

Pros: quiet, charming decor

Cons: hike up the hill, lack of bathrooms

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for your very full and honest review. I even felt as if I recognised this place to which you were referring!! Well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stephen and his wife, Fienie were very warm and welcoming. Stephen was always helpful, giving us tidbits of things to see and places to go and sharing maps so we could get there too. The room was large but cozy and the views from the windows of the harbor are beautiful. They provide a delicious breakfast, and lots of the little things. They are very close to the Octagon within walking distance if you don't mind walking back up the hill. Parking is on the road and we didn't have difficulty finding a place to park almost in front of the place each night.

Room Tip: There weren't any bad rooms that I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Too kind, but thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Beautiful late Victorian house. Stephen's attention to detail was high and he and Fienie were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and home made bread! It was a steep 10 min walk up from the town but on a regular bus route.

Room Tip: The Studio was more modern, spacious and with kitchen and washing/drying facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your very helpful review! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here for one night and liked the cosy and big rooms. Great view from the room. They even had a hair dryer and some other little things. Hosts were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great and the the B&B is located very close to the town center. Everything is in walking distance. Parking place along the road. Great place to stay !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weltenbummler1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your great review. March has been a great month for tourism in NZ. Glad to hear that you had a good time in Piwi's home country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed there over christmas. the room and the shared bathroom were clean, steve and fienie were nice and breakfast was okay too. nothing to complain about. just the price wasnt that cheap, but i think its really difficult to find a nice and cheap accomodation in new zealand. if you go to dunedin, you can stay in highbrae guesthouse, you won´t regret it.

Room Tip: not many rooms, all that we saw seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MouStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenClark, Owner at Highbrae Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Hi Stefan, Thank you for the nice review. December/January/February is our busiest season, but if you visit at another time (say like March or April) we may offer you a better price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.6 mi away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 63 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbrae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrae Guesthouse

Property: Highbrae Guesthouse
Address: 376 High Street | City Rise, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a taste of the early days of one of New Zealand's oldest cities, while enjoying twenty-first century comfort. Highbrae Guesthouse was built on Dunedin's High Street Cable Car route in 1908. Its early Edwardian architecture featuring many art nouveau characteristics. Today, this impressive home, which offers spectacular views of the city, the ocean, the harbour, as well as easy access to all attractions, also provides first class bed and breakfast accommodation to its guests. The three upstairs guest rooms are carefully maintained to preserve their character for visitors, who delight in the many original features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highbrae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing