We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Beautiful Building”

Dunedin Railway Station
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Dunedin Self Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #5 of 105 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We went to check out all of the Royal Doulton. The building is wonderful. But for people that are touring on their own, there needs to be more information listed that tells you about it. There is something outside, but I didn't see anything inside. That aside, it was still very stunning!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcbolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,237
    793
    128
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
335 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The railway station is a nice building, with a lovely interior. You don't need to spend much time here, but it is worth visiting if in sightseeing in Dunedin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladybugsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trip back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a wonderful step back in time to when the railways were a focal point of travel and business. The station building is a magnificent structure from a by-gone era which evoked nostalgic memories rom my youth. The ornate interior and central staircase is fantastic and the "work" side of the station with it's wide platform and rail yard conjures memories of a busy travel hub long past. A must see for any history buffs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing building - the cathedral of stations in Southern Hemisphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had to stop several times to photograph this building from both ends. Entering the building we were almost transfixed by the marble floors and their decoration. It only operates one service nowadays to the Taieri Gorge through which flows the second longest river in New Zealand over rapids and through some wide flowing sections. We took the train journey in an old train carriage to Pukerangi, which we were told had recently doubled in size from two to four dwellings! Once we reached the destination several passengers left for their vehicles which had been driven to collect them. The journey passed through rock tunnels and across difficult looking bridges and "shaky" looking tracks. Quite a journey and worth the experience

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bookman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

awesome architecture cool floors and stained glass windows well worth a visit nice and close to town

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank robynf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunedin Railway Station also viewed

 

Been to Dunedin Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing