We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Raffles”
Review of Fantail Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fantail Lodge
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at bellbird for one night, chose it as on peninsula and had hot tub, we arrived when owners were out, but door was open left a note and key, we unpacked then went to see penguins main reason for coming to NZ. When we got back lights on in cottage, fire lit, lovely touch by the owner. Then tried out the hot tub , wonderful. In morning, got chatting the cottage was hand built by owner. Cottage had great layout walk through gardens, onto decking, then into lounge/ kitchen area, with fire, then round corner, large bed and en-suite bathroom. Having stayed in a number of places this is my favourite by far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymont74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in Bellbird cottage for 2 nights and loved it ! Comfortable , clean, well furnished and surrounded by a beautiful garden where we could hear the sounds of the birds. The SPA was a bonus , a nice surprise . Vic was very friendly and helpful with the tips about tha area .It was very hard to leave !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here three nights to explore Dunedin City. The Otago Peninsula is well known to us because we have visited the peninsula two times before. Even to visit Dunedin the Fantail Lodge is a good place to stay, it needs half a hour to get to the city.
The Fantail Cottage was our accommodation, it is well furnished and nice decorated with all the paintings of Vic. We loved the view in the well maintained garden with all these NZ plants.
Vic, the host, was very friendly to us. We got useful advices from him for the city and we had interesting chats together.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_pingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed 4 nights in Bellbird cottage. Ideal for 1 or 2 persons. Nicely decorated, comfy bed and a hot bubble spa pool on the deck. Very nice gardens and a short walk to the beach. You are offered free use of kayaks. Very kind and friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Bellbird cottage for three nights and did not want to leave! The cottage itself is beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable, and has a luxurious private spa which was perfect for relaxing in after a long day exploring. It is set in a beautiful garden belonging to the owners, Tessa and Vic who were extremely friendly and informative about the local area. We cannot recommend it highly enough and definitely hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank han888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We spent Christmas in the Bellbird Cottage at Fantail Lodge on the Otago Peninsula, and couldn't have had a lovelier time. Vic and Tessa were fabulous hosts, and provided us with insider details of walks and activities which made our visit even more special. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikeinnoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is my 3rd trip to NZ and 2nd time to Otago Peninsular. The Fantail Lodge is truly a hidden gem. Fantastic for $value, location, hospitality, garden setting, etc. .. compare to other places we stayed for this trip which include Akaroa Cottage, Lake Tekapo Cottage and Queestown Crowne Plaza. Easily get our vote for "Best Place to stay in NZ" :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BENGHIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
5.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
748 reviews
13.2 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
1.7 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
640 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
450 reviews
5.4 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantail Lodge

Address: 682 Portobello Road | Broad Bay, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fantail Lodge we offer a choice of two cottages. FANTAIL COTTAGE is an open-plan design, offering queen-bed accommodation with two extra single beds on a mezzanine floor. Ideal for a couple or family group. BELLBIRD COTTAGE offers queen-bed accommodation with the additional luxury of an outdoor spa pool for your personal enjoyment. A very special place for a couple to relax and unwind. Relax on your verandah, surrounded by our lush harbourside garden and enjoy the company of native birds. We are adjacent to a small sandy beach and offer guests free use of our kayaks. It is a short drive to all the attractions of the Otago Peninsula: Larnach Castle, Yellow-Eyed Penguin Reserve, Royal Albatross Colony, Sea Lions, Fur Seals and wild ocean beaches. Both cottages have self-catering facilities. A continental breakfast hamper can be provided if desired. The cottages are smoke-free. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing