We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and delicious stay.”
Review of Milton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milton House
Ranked #30 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Ali and Richard the owners of Milton House have created a beautiful historic home. They are most welcoming and friendly. The room was excellent with very comfortable bedding and bed. The bathrooms are roomy and modern. They treated me to afternoon tea with fresh baking which I appreciated after a very long driving day. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice. I really enjoyed the St. Clair's outdoor hot saltwater swimming pool a 5 minute walk from Milton House. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne_dobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Milton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed at Milton for 3 nights at thie start of their summer. The house is done to an exceptional standard with beautiful rooms, all bedrooms have their own individual bathrooms which really are very nice plus beds are very comfy! Hosts at Milton House were lovely and welcoming and made us feel at home. Breakfast had a great choice with something for everyone. Milton house is in a great location in walking distance to St Clair beach that has a nice swimming pool and close enough the city centre for other activities e.g speights brewery, cadbury world, museums etc. It is also close to the stunning peninsula drive. We look forward to returning and will be sending other family members in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camers253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
als1883, Owner at Milton House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

lovely to have met you both and every good wish for your travels and futures!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for the rugby, just one night, but would have loved to have moved right in! Ali & Richard are such wonderful hosts, so warm and welcoming. The open fire was Beautiful and the house has been done up to an exceptional standard. Would absolutely reccommend this to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay a b&b is such a nice alternative to a hotel, lovely and close to St Clair - in my opinion the nicest part of Dunedin. Our room was big, the bed super comfy. Look forward to staying there next time!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank meegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Spent one night at Milton House (13 June 2012) for business with a work colleauge. I don't usually stay in B&B's when travelling on business, but this was an exceptional experience. Richard picked us up from the airport on a cold winter's evening. Excellent supper provided. Great room and super bed. Wonderful breakfast. Perfect hosts. Andrew H.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
als1883, Owner at Milton House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thankyou Andrew, it got even colder when you departed!! Hope to see you again, maybe on the Milford Tramp?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We recently stayed at Milton House, our first stop in New Zealand. It is a lovely b & b, run by a great host, Ali (Richard was out of town), who helped us plan our stay. An elegant and delicious breakfast was served in front of a roaring fire. Nice location near St Clair beach, just 10 minutes from downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
als1883, Owner at Milton House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thankyou, we hope you enjoyed your Catlins trip, happy Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Milton House is a wonderful place. Ali and Richard are the most brilliant hosts and will ensure that your stay is perfect. There is no way that I can do justice to their customer service so I will try my best with ‘simply magnificent’.
The views from the rooms are quite remarkable and the proximity to the St Clair beach area is superb. If you want something special book into this beautiful historic house for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

As soon as we arrived at Milton House and were ushered in by Ali and Richard we knew that we had picked the right B&B. We were made to feel at home straightaway. What a beautiful grand house. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished. We had one of the top rooms which was large and very comfortable and gave us beautiful views of the city and the sea. It was only a short walk to the beach where there was a selection of eating places to choose from. Ali’s breakfasts were scrumptious with lots of her own homemade goodies on offer. Nothing was a bother whether it was discussing where to go or just catching up on the day’s events. Thank you Ali and Richard for making the start of our New Zealand holiday such a great one. It set the tone for the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
7.4 mi away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Esplanade Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Adrian Motel
Adrian Motel
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lisburn House
Lisburn House
#26 of 63 in Dunedin
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton House

Address: 116 Norfolk Street | St Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £95 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milton House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and share the seaside hospitality in a luxurious Heritage home. Close to golf courses,ice stadium, horse racing track, croquet, tennis courts, bowls stadium and gateway to the Otago Penninsula wildlife area. The views of the city and beaches are magnificent from the king en-suite bedrooms which are spacious and light and warm, beautifully furnished with crisp linens and quality toiletries. You will enjoy lots of extra touches and the breakfasts are a gourmet delight. We are near the vibrant cafe and restaurant area of the Esplanade, and the hot salt water pool and surfing beach. The CBD is 15 minutes drive and the airport is 30 minutes away. Safe and quiet for the solo traveller or the discerning corporate client. Space to spread out for families with older children (12 yr and over). Guests have own dining area with open fire, minibar, board games and CD/music and tea/coffee facilities. The lounge has SKY, piano, books, port, chocolates and free wifi throughout. Parking is on and off street and the property is non smoking with no pets. Visa and Mastercard are accepted with a 2% transaction fee.Internet banking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Milton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing