We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value for money”
Review of Chapel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chapel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I was very excited to stay at the Chapel Apartments after seeing their website. What we got was not what was advertised.
The apartment was not serviced and provided one towel per person for our stay, and with no heaters in the bedroom or bathroom we had damp towels the following day. Of the two bathrooms only one even had a fan heater, the other was very cold. Normally I am happy to make my own bed but for this price I expected full service daily. There was supposed to be a queen and single in one bedroom this was not the case, instead my 69 year old mother had to sleep on a pull out bed on the floor. There was no sky tv just hard to negotiate freeview. No reception area also means the front door is wide open all night, providing very poor security. A bed remained leaning against the hall wall for the whole of our stay, looking messy.
On the upside it has free broadband, and the location is excellent. Very spacious with heat pumps in the rest of the apartment, however I would definitely not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Often_Travelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with the bedrooms downstairs and the living area upstairs. Very clean and each bedroom had its own ensuite. There was also a washing machine and dryer in each apartment. The location was great and only a short walk to the Octagon in the centre of town. We booked over the internet and there was no office on site only a sign to say which room was yours. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed at the Chapel Apartments for our Honeymoon in January 2011 for two nights in a one bedroom apartment. From the moment we walked in the door, we loved the place!!! The high ceilings, the leadlight windows and the spiral staircase up to the bedroom, were only the beginning of our fantastic stay. The apartment oozed character and style and had everything we needed. The owner, John, was extremely helpful and has transformed an old church into a fantastic accomodation getaway. We will definitely go back and stay at the Chapel Apartments if we travel to Dunedin.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_KymAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed in Apartment 1 (3 bedroom on street level). We are a family of four, so the girls took a room each and we had the one by the entry door. The rooms all have queen beds, high ceilings, heavy warm drapes (which you need in winter here!) and lots of wardrobe space/ mirrors. One room had an ensuite with shower, while another connected to the main bathroom. The third bedroom did not have bathroom access.

The living area was comfortable with large leather sofas, a large dining table seating 8, and large flat screen TV, CD, DVD player. One feature enjoyed by everyone was the massage chair, especially as one of us had bad back pain after snow boarding a few days earlier!

As far as kitchen facilities go, there is a 5 burner gas hob, convection microwave, wall oven, large fridge freezer, plenty of crockery and a dishwasher.

Overall, the property is nicely furnished and presented and ideal for a group of friends or a family spending a few days in Dunedin.

The Pros: Generous and roomy apartment, big kitchen and living area, laundry and good sized main bathroom with big bathtub, WiFi access and free parking, great location - walk 1 minute to cafes and restaurants. Keypad entry and no keys needed. There is a heat pump in the living area.

The Cons: No heating in the bedrooms apart from electric blankets on the beds, all beds are queens - one King would be nice. There are no TV's in bedrooms, and only one towel per person and one tea towel for the entire apartment.

In the kitchen, there are three sharp knives, a peeler, bottle opener, two pair of chopsticks, a fish slice and one balloon whisk and this makes it virtually impossible to cater a dinner here. The shame of it is that it wouldn't cost much to supply a pair of tongs, some serving spoons and a potato masher and perhaps some placemats for the table. If you plan to cook here, you will need to bring everything, including oil and condiments and for the amount they charge, these items should be provided. There are no champagne glasses, and what wine glasses were here, were badly scratched or cracked. There is crockery and cutlery.

All in all, we liked the place, but it does let itself down badly with minor details that would be so easy to fix and would make a guests' stay so much better. It feels as though the Church got remodeled, but someone got bored near the end of it and forgot about the detail!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Imakiwigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yayoisakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricarda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon L, Owner at Chapel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Apartments

Address: 81 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £95 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapel Apartments offers a unique accommodation experience. An innovative contemporary design finished to the highest standard housed in an historical building, the oldest church (1863) in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chapel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing