We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home away from home”
Review of Chapel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked this based on the many positive trip advisor reviews and it lived up to its online reputation. Check-in was simple, the apt was stylish, clean and impressively appointed. The central location, particularly to the octagon meant that we didn't need to use the car too often. A great location to easily explore the cultural, historic, retail and epicurean offerings of Dunedin. Jon was a gracious host.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Beautifully designed apartments in an old church, with many of the churches original features preserved. Apartments are large, most of them with bedrooms downstairs and living area upstairs. The location is fantastic and it is easy to walk anywhere in Dunedin. There is great coffee around and Dunedin is overloaded with wonderful restaurants, great scenery and lovely people.
However, this is what really disappointed us:
Very old, saggy beds (although the trundle was good). Probably ok if you sleep on your back...
Washing machine located under the stairs in a very dark closet with no lights. You have to crawl to get to it, and then, it doesnt do the job: i am yet to see a washer that also dries properly for a family of four!
A fridge that does not keep food cool enough, either because it is just cheap or because it is wedged in a too small space. Milk turned sour within 48 hours.
No service during the four days we spent there (in a fully serviced apartment!): there is a cupboard full of towels in the hall and you can help yourselves. Beds were not made, soap containers not refilled, tissues not replaced. Eventually someone came and obviously poured bleach in bathrooms, so much of it that we had to open all windows to avoid toxic suffocation on our return. However, pouring bleach is no substitute to cleaning properly... We did meet the lovely lady who was cleaning the apartments: she was alone and clearly overworked.
Parking is easy, either on site or across the road.
We only saw the host very briefly at check out. Otherwise, the place was deserted by staff, which did not bother us but could be unsettling for some.
In summary, a cool place to stay but by no means number one in Dunedin!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snzae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My brother organised this stay for 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment at the Chapel Apartments for our family of 5 adults while touring New Zealand. The property is a renovated church. We stayed on the ground floor with parking directly outside of the apartment. I would highly recommend staying here as the apartment is very spacious with 2 bathrooms, a very large lounge, dining, TV area with massage chair and fully appointed kitchen and laundry area. Located right in the heart of town it is within easy walking distance of all the main city attractions. Definitely recommend this one for families with more than one couple.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the ground floor as it is easy to get into and out of for parking. Parking spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in 3 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. Apartment was perfect for family of 6, especially having 3 showers! Very spacious and modern rooms. Kitchen and laundry have everything that you need. We loved staying in the renovated church and will definitely be coming back to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights, in both a two bedroom, and a one bedroom. The building itself is lovely, very quaint and we really liked it. It's nice and close to everything, easy to to walk to the Octagon and to the little convenience stores that are open most of the time.

Beds, linen and cleanliness were all top notch. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the car parking situation. We really needed to be able to park the car outside the apartment and at times the car park was occupied by other tenants.

The owner does reimburse any parking fees if you park in the parking building across the road, so that's a plus, it's just a bit annoying when you have to be up and out early each morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Really amazing location and great design. Spacious and clean. We stayed in the three bedroom apartment 1 downstairs. Lots of space and very very comfy beds. Massage chair, aircon and heating.
Check out is 10am not 10am-12pm as the booking.com website states and parking can be a problem as there are only 4 spaces and 7 apartments...
The deposit will be deducted at the time of booking.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank dieslacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Modern, beautifully designed, with great attention to detail and so close to everything.
I would thoroughly recommend these apartments. Jon, the owner was friendly and the booking easy. I loved that on arrival there was a notice board with a cheery hello written on and clear instructions..very welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Apartments

Address: 81 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £93 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapel Apartments offers a unique accommodation experience. An innovative contemporary design finished to the highest standard housed in an historical building, the oldest church (1863) in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chapel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing