We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in centre of Dunedin”
Review of Chapel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Here for two nights with family. Superb location right in the centre of Dunedin. The apartments are excellent - ours was on 2 levels. Two bedrooms with en-suite showers on the lower level and a lounge with huge wall mounted TV and fully equipped modern kitchen upstairs. There was also a washing machine and tumble dryer - great after touring round New Zealand for a month. Parking is limited and although there is parking with meters on the road this is on a very steep hill. Alternatively there is Wilsons car park opposite and the Apartment owners will reimburse your fees. Despite the hill next to the Chapel it is a level walk in to town which is just minutes away. If you want to go to the cinema that is just 100 yards away. Also about a 10 minute walk away is Speights Ale House next to the brewery. If you like your beer try the $20 taster of 8 beers! . The food looked good as well though we chose to cook - and make use of the apartment facilities. It is a novel place to stay but would recommend it. Although there is no reception and just a note of which room you are in, you can talk to the owners on the free phone and someone visits each day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 769John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Chapel apartments.It was well appointed with wonderful furnishings and a very unique setting within an old church. The beds were very comfortable and there was ample space to entertain and to cook and it was very clean. It is well situated nearby to other great restaurants. There was no one there to greet us but they were at the end of the phone if we needed anything which was not a problem at all.

I would highly recommend Chapel Apartments to anyone wanting a luxurious and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filo136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked this hotel from the beautiful photos on line, big mistake. We arrive to find no one around, our name and room code advertised on a board in the main foyer for everyone to see. Our car park already taken. We get inside & it looked nothing like what I had booked & paid for. The first thing you notice was an awful smell & It was dark & filthy. I couldn't wait to get out of this place. The only good thing I can say about the place was it was in a good location. This place is hugely over priced. Apartment 1 is disgusting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were surprised to arrive and no one there to see us. There was a piece of paper at the door to say which apartment we were in. Not very cosy, but very smartly decorated. Rooms were comfortable. Apartments are very close to central Dunedin which was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked 2 nights at the Chapel Apartments and enjoyed our stay to a point. The apartments are to an exceptionally high standard. The lounge/ kitchen upsairs and the bedrooms downstairs. it all worked fime. They were fitted out again to a very high standard. We had no trouble with parking, a space was allocated to us and although a little tight it was no problem. The apartments are very well located in the centre of Dunedin.
The only problem we had with the apartments was the description when booking, it was advertised as a 2 bedroomed apartment with a queen bed in 1 room and a queen bed and single bed in the 2nd room, we were a mixed sex party and needed the queen bed and single bed in 1 room, the single bed turned out to be a rollaway bed hidden underneath the queen bed and when we pulled it out there was very little room to place it on the floor. The bedroom was far to small to accomodate a second single bed. We had to climb over each others beds to get to the bathroom.
Using the 2 Queen beds only would make a great apartment and stay, with en suite off both bedrooms. It was lovely and clean and very well equiped.
Great apartment to stay if using the 2 beds only, our stay was slightly disappointing because of the space available for the single bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ringride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is an usual property ! A converted church or chapel it has been achieved with some flair and style...then falls down in some silly ways.
First of all and its best point it is well situated in the center of town. Comfortable beds..good wi fi.
On the downside the security i thought was awful...my entry code to my apartment was posted up on a board that could be read by anyone ! Parking was difficult..although fair to say good to have it .Cleanliness not great.Never saw a manager/caretaker although he was available to speak to on the phone.Adjoining the property is a youth hostel and this can be noisy !
I can understand why some folk loved the place (in other reviews)...would i go back...no. However ,I sit on the fence whether to recommend it or not.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rude Manager who should not be in the hospitality business. Dark rooms with no natural light. No room service or even fresh towels. No car parking in spite of advertised. Overpriced. Would never recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Apartments

Address: 81 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £93 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapel Apartments offers a unique accommodation experience. An innovative contemporary design finished to the highest standard housed in an historical building, the oldest church (1863) in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chapel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing