We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayfield Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfield Motels
Ranked #52 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed three nights here but unfortunately the place is very old and in need of some urgent maintenance and upgrades.Our first room (studio) smelt very musty and had a small water leak on the floor which the owners tried to dry out for us. The next morning we found the cause, the hot water system in the wardrobe was leaking water everywhere and the carpet was fully saturated! To her credit, owner Jenny moved us to another room and offered to refund some of our cost due to water leaks. The new room was clean and comfortable but had limited utilities (no power point in the bathroom), beds were old and supported by wood under the mattress. The only positives were the close location to the City Centre and the daily rates.

Room Tip: Get one that is not in the shade all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motueka
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Good price, old fashioned units, basic but good value. Great play area for the kids, a bit out of town, but meant it was a bit quieter. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca_Monsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

A very generous, spacious room (it slept four) - the decor was a little dated but as rooms go it was clean and perfectly functional, and good value.

The property is a little way out of the CBD, but this didn't concern us. It was easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed a night at Bayfield Motels Dunedin and attended a school reunion just across the road. On the plus side, the motels were very conveniently located for this particular occasion, realtively quiet, had a flexible canellation policy, seemed to have most things you would need, were reasonably clean, and the lady at the counter was very pleasant and helpful.

On the not so good side, the rooms and most of their contents seemed to date from when I attended the nearby school, (late 1960's). Still I guess thats now retro sheek ? The beds were a bit lumpy and the pillows I think were filled with horse hair (and lots of it), so did not have a good sleep. Also the shower dribbled at a slower rate than me (and I have an enlarged prostate as an excuse). Still when I complained the host gave me a key to another room where the water pressure was good.

All in all Ok for the price ($100 for a 2br unit), but unless attending another function next door I wouldn't bother.

Stu

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stunzupperhutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very basic motel, old but clean. Only $100 and fine for one night

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We booked the unit over the Internet, wanting a three bedroom unit. Upon check in we found the unit freezing cold, there was a damp mouldy smell. The mirror in the bathroom had grime on it, the kitchen bench and a cupboard door had coffee stains on them. The fan in the wall heater did not work and when it did start spinning it whined very loudly. Promptly found another motel and left fifteen minutes later. We are not hard to please people and have not written on a review site before, however I would be surprised to see this motel survive in it's current condition.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chchtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Motel
Beach Lodge Motel
#21 of 59 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadian Motel
Arcadian Motel
#39 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield Motels

Property: Bayfield Motels
Address: 210 Musselburgh Rise | PO Box 5872, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfield Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bayfield Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing