We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nature lovers paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Callies Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Bruce and Jenny are wonderful hosts and can give you great tips on finding wildlife. Lots of winding roads take you to breathtaking views of rolling fillf seashores and farms. Rics fish and chips is the best blue cod. Cozy room, comfy bed, yummy breakfasts. We stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

Callies is a perfect place to stay if visiting the Otago Peninsula. A great welcome from Jenny and Bruce who are keen to offer any help or advice you may need.Breakfast is a delight, and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable.Location is also good being only a short stroll from a small supermarket and 2 restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanOliver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Jenny was a most helpful and welcoming host. While I was making the booking and had some queries about arranging itinerary and such, she and Bruce was most helpful and forthcoming with information and suggestions that were very useful. Even when we arrived weary from our long drive(were it not for Jenny's advice, we would have had a far longer drive), she was on hand to welcome us with drinks and help us settle in. Right away I felt at home. The rooms were homely, warm, clean and beautiful and breakfast was first-rate. But what struck me most is Jenny; we really chatted a lot and she feels much more like a friend and not just a host. If you're looking for hotel standard but with a personal touch(and make friends), go to Callies!

Wendy Ng

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyNgWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Top notch hospitality with our friendly host of Bruce & Jenny. We were greeted well immediate upon arrival with drinks & chatting about our trip in New Zealand as well as suggestion to visit some of the places. Room is fabulous with every small details is considered such as hand lotion in the bathroom, bathrobe & chocolate on our bed. Our host even think of putting microwave & oven in the room with abundance of books on the shelf just for us. The view from our balcony overlooking the sea is splendid.

A table of scrumptious continental b'fast was served in the next morning which is very home-alike.Thank you Bruce & Jenny for such a wonderful host. We would highly recommend for those who plan to overnight in Otago Peninsula for Callies B&B and nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynetteToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It is the best stay we ever experienced in New Zealand!! Such a pity that we could only stay for a short night. Everything was perfect! Both of the rooms we stayed in were wonderful, super clean and warm. The bathroom was super clean and even hand lotion was provided! Jenny is so lovely and warm, she welcomed us late at night, stayed up to drink and chat with us and prepared a table of sumptuous breakfast in the morning! We had breakfast together, chatted a lot and was really reluctant to leave. We felt so much at home! Not forgetting the fun we had with their little cute dog, Joey! Thanks so much, Jenny & Bruce!! xx Marilyn, Singapore

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynTanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Bruce and Jenny provided environment and hospitality that is top notch. We visited in late May and Bruce had many suggestions that were successful options when the sun didn't shine but the rain did. Traveling with two granddaughters we were able to see all the penguins species and the Albatross, as well as marine mammals. What a visit. Always welcoming us to visit with them in their space made this like being with family. If your considering the Otago Peninsula, make reservations here..now. This is the best central location and family warmth that one could expect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjej01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed with Bruce and Jenny for one night in March 2012. It was a memorable night and one of the highlights of our 3 week stay in New Zealand. Immediately upon arrival, we were greeted and made to feel right at home. We had intended visiting the Albatross Colony the evening of our stay but the inclement weather made us change our minds. In the end, we had a fantastic evening with our hosts who treated us like royalty. We spent the evening chatting and generally having a great time. Our room was very well appointed and every little detail was considered, even down to a chocolate on our bed before retiring for the evening. The views from the room of the inlet are stunning. And last but not least, the breakfast in the morning was to die for - a continental breakfast of the highest standard imaginable. Thanks Bruce and Jenny for a memorable stay. We could not recommend you and your B and B highly enough.

Nick and Teresa Berry

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
644 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hunter's Moon Guest House
8.7 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#15 of 62 in Dunedin
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callies Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callies Bed & Breakfast

Address: 45 Harington Point Road | Portobello, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Queen room with en-suite bathroom, includes lounge area and private balcony with stunning views over Portobello Bay. Tea and coffee making facilities, microwave and fridge in room. Free Wifi internet. Warm and friendly hospitality. Close to Otago Peninsula wildlife attractions, golf course and walking tracks. Five minute walk to restaurant, cafe, hotel and grocery shop. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing