We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roslyn Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roslyn Apartments
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in apartment 4 - top floor with sweeping views of Dunedin ( although we could only se the city intermittently because of the rain and the fog!) - and had a lovely time.
The apartment was close to the city, and supermarkets and cafes were within walking distance.
It was spotlessly clean and well fitted out.
We cooked for ourselves each night and everything we needed was in the kitchen.
There was a washing machine and a tumble dryer in the unit, with washing powder provided.
The beds were beautifully comfortable.
There were books,magazines and DVDs provided - we used those on the first afternoon when the weather was bleak.
Despite the bad weather, we had an amazing few days. We visited the Albatross centre and went on the train trip from Dunedin to Middlemarsh.
There were lots of personal touches - it felt more like a home than a holiday rental.
The only minor issue was that there was only one bathroom and no separate toilet - so things could get a bit congested in the mornings
We loved Dunedin! And Roslyn apartments contributed to our great experience.

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the top right - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The apartments are warm and cosy and great to hibernate in when the weather is not our friend. We often get comments on the personal touches and how they make the apartments more homely. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you back again soon.

kind regards
Donna and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    36
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
113
128
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Roslyn Apartments recently as a family member was graduating from University. Uni graduations usually mean accommodation is booked out early and it can be noisy staying in the city with all the celebrations, so we chose Roslyn Apartments because they are very close to the city but without all the noise. What a great choice it turned out to be.

Wonderful full kitchens, lovely views, lovely people ( Donna and Bruce ) and quiet !!!

We found the parking to be fine, if the parking area up the driveway was full there are garages on the street that can be used.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Roslyn Apartments. Graduation time in Dunedin is a busy vibrant time for us and the city. We get a lot of families staying with us as we offer the whole apartment experience instead of just a room, so much more relaxing during such a hectic time!!

We look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Donna and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Roslyn Apartments. My family of 4 stayed 3 nights in July. The apartments are in a great location - just a short stroll to restaurants, coffee shops and supermarkets. The apartment was very comfortable and immaculately clean with all of the comforts of home. We cooked every night during our stay and did not need for anything in the kitchen. The views from our room was amazing and the beds in the apartment were also great. I just want to send a big thank you to Donna the manager. My husband left his phone and a couple of DSi's in our apartment. Donna not only arranged for them to be shipped back for us but was also kind enough to run a personal errand for us after our stay. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Kathy

It is wonderful your family enjoyed our location and the comfort of our apartments so much. Thank you for taking the time to put such a lovely review on trip advisor for us.

I know how important cell phones can be,...most peoples lives are in them!!! so I was happy to help get it back to you.

It will be great to see you all again.

kind regards
Donna and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very happy with our apartment and stay. Great views over the city. Close stroll to the local shops - coffee shops, restaurants, supermarket and other conveniences. The unit itself was very neat and tidy, with everything one would need for a comfortable stay. Very comfortable beds, sending us all off for a few good nights sleep while we were there. We stayed in and cooked every night, all the cooking pots, pans and utensils we needed, much better than most apartments we've stayed in. All and all very comfortable stay, like home really. Thanks Donna.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Andrew

Many thanks for your great review of the apartments. We have a lot of families stay with us especially during the school holidays as the apartments have everything you need.
We hope to see you again the next time your family visit NZ.

kind regards
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great view, helpful staff, all the comforts of home, close to supermarket. Washer and dryer so you don’t need to take too much stuff. Well equipped kitchen. Comfy lounge so you can relax after a long day sight seeing. Electric blanket and warm bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozkerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We hope to see you both again the next time you are in New Zealand.

Donna and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My boyfriend and I fell in love with the place the first time we saw it on Roslyn apt website. The apt was what we expected (if not more). We got caught in the stormy weather and was not able to drive down from Christchurch to Dunedin. Donna was kind and understanding of our situation and allowed us to delay our arrival date (until the road was clear) without extra fee.

Today is my last day in NZ and I would say Roslyn apt was our favorite among all the places we stayed in NZ. It's a very modern apt with a superb view of the peninsula. We woke up to have hot coffee and tea in our balcony and watched the sunrise on both days of our stay. To top this of, We also got a bottle of complementary Sauvignon blanc with our stay.
The list of things go on and on about how much we love this place. Lastly, we want to thank Donna who helped us book the tour to the penguin place. We got to see one of the rarest yellow-eyed penguins.

Overall our experience and stay was excellent. We wish we could've more time and could stay
at this apt longer. We would definitely come back here again if we ever travel from USA to NZ.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for kind praise of the apartments. It was such a good idea to sit and relax on the balcony with a hot drink and enjoy the sun rising over the hills. It is the perfect start to the day.

kind regards
Donna and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Perfectly located high above the city, allowing for wonderful city & harbour views, yet easy access to the city itself or beyond. Only minutes from all the basic amenities you'll need, including two supermarkets, restaurants and a cool & cosy cafe supplying great coffee! What more do you need!?

The apartment my 4 year old son & I stayed in was brilliant! Two awesome sized bedrooms, lounge & dining area, kitchen & separate bathroom which included shower & a bath. Everything you would want & need for a comfortable & stress free stay was provided for.

I can't thank Donna enough for her generosity & kindness, and for going the extra mile to ensure we had a positive & happy stay!

We are already planning another trip back to Dunedin & will look no further & not hesitate to stay here again.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
It's fantastic that you and your son had such a wonderful stay with us. A bonus with Dunedin is there are plenty of activities and places to visit for families.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Donna and Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
707 reviews
6.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 57 in Dunedin
721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslyn Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslyn Apartments

Property: Roslyn Apartments
Address: 23 City Road | Roslyn, Dunedin 9010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslyn Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury one and two bedroom apartments in Dunedin. 3 minutes drive from the centre of town. Stunning city and harbour views. Restaurants and supermarket on our doorstep. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roslyn Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing