We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Introduction to South Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Introduction to South Island”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just what we needed on a first damp and grey day in Dunedin. A warm welcome and lots of useful information. The self contained accommodation is very comfortable and provides a great view of Otago Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do enjoy meeting people from all over the world in our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Good points: privacy, nice view from the terrace, good continental breakfast basket, good wifi.
Minor points: kitchen not very clean, coldish sleeping room (despite of the heat pump), we stayed 2 nights and the bed was not done after the first night and apparantly your supposed to clean the dishes you used for breakfast. The explanation given (announcement on a piece of paper on the wall) is the art b&b isn't a hotel but a self contained b&b.
Overall this was a bit a disappointement, during our 4-weeks stay in New Zealand, this was our least good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrietDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We are very sorry that you were so disappointed in your stay at Arts content B and B. We try very hard to make our guests comfortable in every way and have never had anyone before who has been dissatisfied with the accommodation we provide.
We do not advertise that we provide hotel style or serviced apartment style accommodation but rather to provide our guests with a home away from home where they can relax in privacy and yet have recourse to asking our advice about local activities and sights worth seeing.
We were devastated to see this review which is at such variance with all the other reviews that
we have received.
*The kitchen, including the cook-top, sink, fridge, microwave and all surfaces are cleaned very thoroughly every time guests leave and then sprayed with anti-bacterial spray. Cushions, seat covers, curtains and all crockery were new in this room one week before you arrived.
* The bedroom doesn't have to be cold as the heat pump can be turned up or down as desired.
There is also an electric blanket on the bed, extra blankets, the walls are insulated and the window is double glazed. Guests often remark on the warmth of the room when they come in from outside.
* We advertise and provide a self contained apartment with a substantial basket breakfast supplied. On arrival, we make it plain to our guests that the B&B is their private space which we don't enter unless invited. As this is not advertised as a serviced apartment we do not intrude on guest’s privacy by making beds or washing up or providing any other sort of room service. However, if guests stay for more than 3 nights we offer to change sheets and provide fresh towels. We are always on hand to provide guests with advice and assistance when needed but we also respect the privacy of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early April for three nights and absolutely loved this B&B for a number of reasons. The location was great with lovely views of the water from the deck, magnificent gardens and close proximity to the wonderful sights of the Otago peninsula. The accommodation was clean and cosy with plentiful breakfast provisions and a well equipped little kitchen. The heating was good for the cooler evenings and the queen size bed was comfortable. Our hosts, Alex and Cathy, were very helpful and knowledgeable about the Otago peninsula. Cathy is an artist and has many beautiful paintings in her on site studio while Alex does some guide work at nearby Larnach Castle. It was great to be able to use their washing machine for free as this is not always possible when travelling. There were several options for dinner within 10-20 minutes drive on the peninsula without having to go into Dunedin. That said Dunedin itself is only approximately 20 minutes away and both the drives alongside the water or inland are really picturesque. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend Arts Content B&B for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights here recently and can highly recommend it to those looking for a beautiful, peaceful place to stay. The owners are delightful and the accommodation is comfortable, with a lovely view over the water from the front terrace. The bedroom is downstairs(a steep spiral staircase, if you are not very agile), and looks onto their beautiful garden. They provide a lovely breakfast basket, with delicious jams, muffins, fruit, eggs and bread, and cereals. They are also very helpful with places to eat or visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spent 5 nights in this delightful B & B hosted by kind and considerate Alex and Cathy Semansky. We barely left the Peninsula as there was so much to do and we felt so at home. The garden, the views, the comfort and the bonus gallery of Cathy's amazing paintings was such a draw card that we were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We went to Dunedin one night earlier than originally planned (because we wanted to get out of Invercargill quicker than planned), and fortunately Cathy and Alex were able to accommodate us one additional evening.
The hosts were very friendly, knowledgeable about the Otago peninsula and Dunedin, and very helpful. And Cathy's paintings on the walls made it extra special.
The room was clean and comfortable. But the cherry on top was the sunset views over the harbour -- indescribably beautiful. When (not if) we go back to Dunedin, we will surely stay at Arts Content again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This just the perfect place to stay while exploring the wonders of the Otago Pennisula. Cathy and Alex are wonderful hosts with a very good knowledge of the local area. They were very helpful. Their cottage garden is a delight to explore and find all sorts of interesting plants and flowers.

There is a very well equipped kitchen, also Sky TV and WiFi and comfy couches and with a magic view across the bay to Dunedin. You can sit out on the decking and enjoy the views as well.

The breakfast basket is filled with lots of goodies including fresh bread, muffins, yoghurt and fresh eggs, cereal and lots more. The bed was very comfortable and I am very fussy about beds. It is has lovely decor without being overdone, just a very relaxing place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
625 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
18 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 63 in Dunedin
33 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Content Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Content Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Castlewood Road | Company Bay, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The Arts Content B&B on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand, is absolute waterfront, SELF CONTAINED, cottage style accommodation with the added benefit of a substantial basket breakfast supplied and topped up each day. *The B&B is ideal for a couple. * The B&B has free Wi-Fi Internet. *Decorated in country style and set in a beautiful, "secret" garden. * The B&B adjoins our home and has private entrances and off street parking. * Enjoy sweeping, panoramic harbour views from the front deck. * Upstairs is the Comfortable lounge/dining/kitchen. *Downstairs is the spacious bedroom with ensuite. * Share our pleasure in our beautiful, "secret" garden and take the time to stop and smell our 100+ roses. * A generous, basket breakfast comprising eggs, a choice of cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit in season, a selection of home made jam, fresh crusty bread, home made muffins, home made yoghurt, plunger coffee and English Breakfast Tea is provided. * Within easy reach of the city, we are ideally located to access all the attractions of the Peninsula - Penguins, Albatross, Sea-lions, Seals and stunning scenery. * We provide you with:- •Free Wi-Fi internet so you will be able to connect to the internet. •Free Sky Satellite T.V. •Free, generous basket breakfast.•Free heating (Heat Pump) and hot water •Free use of washing machine and dryer •Free bedding and towels •Free local telephone calls •You will have unrestricted access to the back and front gardens and the huge deck leading from "your" lounge, at the front, overlooking the harbour. •Off street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arts Content Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing