We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Very nice stay!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Such a nice B&B!
Alex and Cathy were such friendly hosts who provided us with a generous breakfast basket which lasted 3 mornings (with plenty of free range eggs each morning)!
Their garden is blooming with so many pretty flowers and a beautiful view of the peninsula from the deck. We even managed to cook a simple dinner and had it on the deck while the sun sets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank madqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
Guest comfort is our priority and we do enjoy meeting people from all over the world and forming a friendship.
We believe that personal interaction is very important in making our guests feel comfortable with, and welcome in the new surroundings.
Having a meal on the huge, front deck is certainly a highlight (weather permitting) and we are happy that you were able to do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After touring North Island and most of South, we arrived here ready for peace and relaxation and this is exactly what we found at Arts Content. Beautiful views from the patio decking, lovely clean apartment , breakfast basket to die for and all supplemented by our wonderful hosts Alex and Cathy who were a mine of information. and could not do enough for us. There can be no better place to stay on the Otago Peninsula.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElaineLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad that The Arts Content B&B provided you with the "peace and relaxation" that you craved after your travels around NZ.
Travelling can be a tiring process and it's always been our philosophy to provide a home from home where travellers can find the peace, privacy, rest and relaxation that they seek.
Coming, as you do, from such a beautiful part of the world makes us value your review even more.
We hope to be in The Lake District in 2015 and would love to be able to meet you again and have your advice about places to see and things to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Such a gem! Loved the location, the space and especially the garden! We appreciated the great advice, the time and the generosity of the hosts. The space is comfortable, clean and private; we enjoyed our time there. The chocolates were an added bonus...and delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and do hope that you can come back and stay a little longer next time. There is so much to do and see on our beautiful Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A delightful place to stay, one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Cathy and Alex were so hospitable (fresh flowers, fresh warm bread etc.) and full of useful advice.
We appreciated the independence of the the self contained apartment and the gardens are really beautiful, they were just bursting into life. The exotic (to us) wildlife, penguins albatross, and fur seals was sensational. If our schedule had allowed it we would have stayed longer. First class !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Merci beaucoup et a la prochaine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just what we needed on a first damp and grey day in Dunedin. A warm welcome and lots of useful information. The self contained accommodation is very comfortable and provides a great view of Otago Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do enjoy meeting people from all over the world in our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Good points: privacy, nice view from the terrace, good continental breakfast basket, good wifi.
Minor points: kitchen not very clean, coldish sleeping room (despite of the heat pump), we stayed 2 nights and the bed was not done after the first night and apparantly your supposed to clean the dishes you used for breakfast. The explanation given (announcement on a piece of paper on the wall) is the art b&b isn't a hotel but a self contained b&b.
Overall this was a bit a disappointement, during our 4-weeks stay in New Zealand, this was our least good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrietDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We are very sorry that you were so disappointed in your stay at Arts content B and B. We try very hard to make our guests comfortable in every way and have never had anyone before who has been dissatisfied with the accommodation we provide.
We do not advertise that we provide hotel style or serviced apartment style accommodation but rather to provide our guests with a home away from home where they can relax in privacy and yet have recourse to asking our advice about local activities and sights worth seeing.
We were devastated to see this review which is at such variance with all the other reviews that
we have received.
*The kitchen, including the cook-top, sink, fridge, microwave and all surfaces are cleaned very thoroughly every time guests leave and then sprayed with anti-bacterial spray. Cushions, seat covers, curtains and all crockery were new in this room one week before you arrived.
* The bedroom doesn't have to be cold as the heat pump can be turned up or down as desired.
There is also an electric blanket on the bed, extra blankets, the walls are insulated and the window is double glazed. Guests often remark on the warmth of the room when they come in from outside.
* We advertise and provide a self contained apartment with a substantial basket breakfast supplied. On arrival, we make it plain to our guests that the B&B is their private space which we don't enter unless invited. As this is not advertised as a serviced apartment we do not intrude on guest’s privacy by making beds or washing up or providing any other sort of room service. However, if guests stay for more than 3 nights we offer to change sheets and provide fresh towels. We are always on hand to provide guests with advice and assistance when needed but we also respect the privacy of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early April for three nights and absolutely loved this B&B for a number of reasons. The location was great with lovely views of the water from the deck, magnificent gardens and close proximity to the wonderful sights of the Otago peninsula. The accommodation was clean and cosy with plentiful breakfast provisions and a well equipped little kitchen. The heating was good for the cooler evenings and the queen size bed was comfortable. Our hosts, Alex and Cathy, were very helpful and knowledgeable about the Otago peninsula. Cathy is an artist and has many beautiful paintings in her on site studio while Alex does some guide work at nearby Larnach Castle. It was great to be able to use their washing machine for free as this is not always possible when travelling. There were several options for dinner within 10-20 minutes drive on the peninsula without having to go into Dunedin. That said Dunedin itself is only approximately 20 minutes away and both the drives alongside the water or inland are really picturesque. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend Arts Content B&B for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
4.3 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 63 in Dunedin
33 reviews
2.9 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Content Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Content Bed and Breakfast

Property: Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Castlewood Road | Company Bay, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The Arts Content B&B on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand, is absolute waterfront, SELF CONTAINED, cottage style accommodation with the added benefit of a substantial basket breakfast supplied and topped up each day. *The B&B is ideal for a couple. * The B&B has free Wi-Fi Internet. *Decorated in country style and set in a beautiful, "secret" garden. * The B&B adjoins our home and has private entrances and off street parking. * Enjoy sweeping, panoramic harbour views from the front deck. * Upstairs is the Comfortable lounge/dining/kitchen. *Downstairs is the spacious bedroom with ensuite. * Share our pleasure in our beautiful, "secret" garden and take the time to stop and smell our 100+ roses. * A generous, basket breakfast comprising eggs, a choice of cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit in season, a selection of home made jam, fresh crusty bread, home made muffins, home made yoghurt, plunger coffee and English Breakfast Tea is provided. * Within easy reach of the city, we are ideally located to access all the attractions of the Peninsula - Penguins, Albatross, Sea-lions, Seals and stunning scenery. * We provide you with:- •Free Wi-Fi internet so you will be able to connect to the internet. •Free Sky Satellite T.V. •Free, generous basket breakfast.•Free heating (Heat Pump) and hot water •Free use of washing machine and dryer •Free bedding and towels •Free local telephone calls •You will have unrestricted access to the back and front gardens and the huge deck leading from "your" lounge, at the front, overlooking the harbour. •Off street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arts Content Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing