We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Warm hospitality, great breakfast and cakes. Lovely B&B with the beautiful art work and views.We'll tell all our friends how wonderful this place is. Best B&B!! hope to return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for the glowing review. We hope you do come back again and spend some more time exploring round here . There is so much to see and do nearby. It is so nice to have all that we provide appreciated. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again. When you tell your friends, tell them they will be assured of a very warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We loved your B&B! It was the perfect place from which to see the Otago Peninsula and all its wonderful wildlife. Thank you for the great suggestions of things to see and do during our stay. And your breakfasts with fresh eggs - Yummy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank April_Mexico_bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your glowing and positive review. It's reviews such as yours that make it all worthwhile.
It's our pleasure to meet and welcome guests from around the world and to let the know about all the wonderful experiences that await travellers on our beautiful Peninsula.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We feel that it's so important that we do all that we can to enhance our guests experience of the Peninsula and that they away good memories all round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely place, most wonderful hosts. The breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit, free range eggs from my hosts own chicken, home baked bread, absolutely amazing. Thanks so much for your warm hospitality, Alex and Cathy. I hope to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We hope you come back too. February is usually a warm and pleasant month but of course you have to get up earlier to catch those sunrises. Really enjoyed looking at your beautiful photographs. Thank you for your lovely review and appreciation of the home baking and the fresh eggs. Next time we will try for slightly better weather as well. Say hello to all those Norwegian Forest cats for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spend four nights here and loved it. Cathy and Alex have the warmest hospitality and it was a genuine pleasure to spend time and chat with them. The breakfast was a highlight, all fresh fruit, eggs from their own chickens, delicious home baked muffins, home made jams. The place was decorated by Cathy's paintings of the local area and local wildlife and she took the time to show us her studio. The cottage was cosy and warm, with a sofa bed upstairs in the kitchen area that was perfect for our 10 year old to sleep in. And the garden was beautiful, an explosion of flowers and colour - probably the most beautiful garden we saw in our 2 month trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveandLilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thankyou for your wonderful feedback about Arts Content. We couldn’t have asked for a more eloquent endorsement of all we try to provide for our guests. Showing off our view, the gallery and the garden and chatting are things we love to do with such appreciative and friendly people. It was a real pleasure to meet you and we hope that, one day, we will have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Cathy and Alex gave us a terrific welcome after a long drive from The Catlins. Cake and tea were waiting and they were so helpful with suggestions after asking what we enjoyed. Taking Cathy's advice we saw albatross, fur seals, sea lions and wading birds - as well as visiting the albatross colony and Penguin Place. Another recommendation was "Olveston" - a historic house that we enjoyed so much. The breakfast basket was amazing with enough food for a family of four, with offers of refills every days we felt as though we staying in an upside down cottage, taking advantage of the amazing views. Privacy was perfect, although Cathy was always around to answer questions - such as where to eat (try The Bank for Friday fish and chips. Delicious). The art work is Cathy's and is for sell in the gallery and added to the personal atmosphere. If we return, we would want to stay here again and hope that if Cathy and Alex get to the UK we can meet up on our home territory. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thankyou for your lovely, complimentary feedback about our accommodation. It's always a pleasure to have guests who appreciate our view, the paintings, the comfort of the'cottage', our hospitality and the beautiful Otago Peninsula which we think is one of the world's treasures. Thankyou also for the wonderful way you left the B and B on your departure. If Tripadvisor had stars for guests, you'd get five!! We particularly appreciate positive comments from people who have travelled as widely as you. We hope to catch up with you in England on one of our journeys there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We started our holiday in Dunedin staying at Arts Content as we felt it'd be a good place to chill and get over the jet lag that we were sure to suffer after 36 hrs travelling, and we were not wrong. Cathy & Alex are incredibly nice people and welcomed us into their warm and cozy self-contained cottage in Company Bay. A little way out of Dunedin, the local bus served us well prior to picking up our rental car and we enjoyed seeing the local area as we travelled around the Peninsula into the centre of Dunedin. The cottage is lovely, a perfect size for two and has everything you can possibly need to be comfortable - a real home from home. The cozy bed gave us a good nights sleep with its beautiful bed linen and an electric blanket if the night was chilly - which it was. Kath's breakfast basket was also a real treat. Everything you could possibly want to start the day, and all pretty much home made or home grown. The bread and muffins in particular were a dream. The only down side to the cottage is the spiral stair case which, if you have dexterity problems could be an issue, but otherwise we'd highly recommend Arts Content, with its most beautiful garden which overlooks the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jumbo282417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Than you so much for your generous and positive review. You clearly enjoyed yourselves on the Peninsula and we are very happy that your stay with us contributed to the experience. We hope that the breakfast basket didn't increase your waistlines by too much. It's our belief that a hearty breakfast sets the tone for the day :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Thank you so much. This was the best accommodation we encountered during a five week tour of NZ. The view, warm hospitality and generous breakfast were all excellent. We wish we had been able to stay longer.

Room Tip: The steep spiral staircase is not suitable for all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your generous and positive review. It's reviews such as yours that make it all worthwhile. We do enjoy welcoming and meeting guests from all over the world and letting them know about all the wonderful things to see on our beautiful Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
4.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
1.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
644 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#15 of 62 in Dunedin
104 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 62 in Dunedin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Content Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Content Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Castlewood Road | Company Bay, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £87 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The Arts Content B&B on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand, is absolute waterfront, SELF CONTAINED, cottage style accommodation with the added benefit of a substantial basket breakfast supplied and topped up each day. *The B&B is ideal for a couple. * The B&B has free Wi-Fi Internet. *Decorated in country style and set in a beautiful, "secret" garden. * The B&B adjoins our home and has private entrances and off street parking. * Enjoy sweeping, panoramic harbour views from the front deck. * Upstairs is the Comfortable lounge/dining/kitchen. *Downstairs is the spacious bedroom with ensuite. * Share our pleasure in our beautiful, "secret" garden and take the time to stop and smell our 100+ roses. * A generous, basket breakfast comprising eggs, a choice of cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit in season, a selection of home made jam, fresh crusty bread, home made muffins, home made yoghurt, plunger coffee and English Breakfast Tea is provided. * Within easy reach of the city, we are ideally located to access all the attractions of the Peninsula - Penguins, Albatross, Sea-lions, Seals and stunning scenery. * We provide you with:- •Free Wi-Fi internet so you will be able to connect to the internet. •Free Sky Satellite T.V. •Free, generous basket breakfast.•Free heating (Heat Pump) and hot water •Free use of washing machine and dryer •Free bedding and towels •Free local telephone calls •You will have unrestricted access to the back and front gardens and the huge deck leading from "your" lounge, at the front, overlooking the harbour. •Off street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arts Content Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing