We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here and will definitely be back, It was clean and comfortable, with air con/heater, crockery(plates, cereal plates and good size mugs) plus cutlery, jug and toaster. Some free wifi as well.Great value for the price and on a direct route to the city and the beach and its cafes. Staff also were very nice and the hotel attached was quiet when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you Elyarf for your nice review.

It is great to get comments such as yours as our cleaning staff go the extra mile to ensure ALL of the units are extremely clean and fit for purpose. The units are small but very functional and superbly clean, as you noticed.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    93
    42
    10
    10
See reviews for
41
88
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for - at the end of the day it's clean and it's cheap. Having a toaster as well as the standard kettle was very welcome and you get a TV with a good range of channels. Lots of free teas and coffees (fair trade too!).
There is free wifi but it's only 100mb per person which is JUST enough for an overnight stay, if you are staying longer you'll probably need more.
The bar is a bit lively and not the sort of place I'd be comfortable drinking in (and there was quite a lot of noise going on at 1am) but you're in your room, the door's locked and it's fine.
It's walkable to the beach - less than 10mins (some sites list this as Ocean View - it isn't!). there are a number of fast food places a short drive away

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you Grant_UK for your comments.

Yes we are cheap and yes we are clean and comfortable and that is what we are providing. A clean, cheap and comfortable option to other overpriced options. The bar next door is great to have a beer or wine and meet some down to earth Kiwi locals.

Thanks for staying and your review. Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel offers nothing fancy but we liked the quiet location and nice people visiting the adjacent pub. It is an easy 6-7 minute ride from the city center and about 35 minutes from the penguin place by car.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dirkjan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks Dirkjan_72 for your comments.

We provide an affordable and comfortable option for those travellers on a budget. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

If you are looking for cheap accomodation but don't want to stay at a backpackers then this place is for you. Its small but clean and tidy and surprisingly quiet. Its a no frills solution and we got free wi-fi which was a bonus. There is also the bar you can get a meal at if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whataperla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you whataperia for your comments.

Yes Ocean Beach Hotel is ideal if you do not want to spend lots of $$$ on accommodation whilst your are staying in Dunedin. Cheap, clean, quiet and we have a restaurant next door if you get hungry!

See you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Needed a one night stay in Dunedin near St Kilda, so got this place through Webjet. Nothing fancy, rooms are small, but it's very clean and has a heat pump. Did me great. One small niggle is that it's a motel, not a hotel. And I had to tune the TV myself. Otherwise, despite a busy bar on a Saturday night, it was really quiet. Would do it again if I needed another overnighter.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks Chris C for your positive comments. Yes you are correct these are motel units but as we also have a pub onsite we cannot really call ourselves Ocean Beach Motels...even though that is what the rooms are.

Sorry about the TV problem. We will have a look at that and try and get it sorted.

It would be great to have you back with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hawea, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

needed a one night stay in Dunedin and wanted to be close to the ocean so Ocean Beach Hotel was a cheap easy choice. Room clean and warm, Shower great. We will be staying again in the future no worries.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you Mike H for taking the time and reviewing Ocean Beach Hotel.

It is great to hear such feedback about our price/product mix and that you found everything clean and that you were warm...very important when staying somewhere! The units are not huge, we know that, but they are functional and we feel they are priced about right!

We have had issues in the past with cleanliness but have moved that particular staff member on and now we have a great cleaning team who are doing a fantastic job with the motel units.

We look forward to you coming back and please tell your friends about us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for one night, , reading some other reviews we were thinking noise from the bar opposite would not be a problem, unfortunatley we found it was noisy from people standing outside smoking and drinking which kept us awake for a while.
The room itself was clean and cheap and it had everything u need inside, the light in the bathroom was out so i had to swap the bulb with another from a different light before we could use the bathroom,
Overall apart from the noise, it was a inexpensive place to stay and very clean and close the beach, but i think we will try somewhere else next time we visit dunedin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you scottie4 for your positive comments. It is nice to hear that you found the motel room very clean as we have increased our focus on cleanliness since receiving many negative comments re: this in the past. Apologies for the blown lamp, thank you for being good about it and just using the wall fitting lamp.

As for the noise all we can say is yes there is a public bar across the courtyard but it is never open after 12am and most Thursday/Friday/Saturday nights will be closed by 11pm. All other nights it is definetly closed by 10pm and sometimes earlier. I am sorry if you found the noise frolm the bar intrusive.

The flip side to the bar is there is a convenient place onsite to have lunch or dinner and a quiet beer or wine and then only a ten second walk to your unit!

Thank you for taking the time to make these comments. We would love to see you back again! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
285 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
2.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 134 Prince Albert Road | St Kilda, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Ocean Beach Hotel is a friendly neighbourhood Bar that offers Bistro meals. It contains a Pool Table, Dart Boards and an 10 Machine Gaming Room. We provide Motel style accommodation with each of our ten units having been refurbished in 2011. Easy walking distance to the beach and the main street of South Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing