We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Was adaquite but small clean very noisy bar to all hours of morning very cold being middle of winter was a bit expensive for facility's offered.Was still thinking that this was the original hotel but had been demolished 2 years before now only very old motels real needs major upgrade.


Date traveled was July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BeamerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you Beamer Dave for your review.

Yes the winters do get cold in Dunedin hence we have installed heat pumps in every unit which make them quite cosy very quickly. The bar next door is never open later than 11.30pm so I disagree with your comment "open to all hours in the morning". As for being expensive, you only paid $79 for your own self contained room with a bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge! All recently renovated (2 years ago). That is neraly backpacker prices for all of the above. Sorry I don't know what you think you should have paid but once GST is taken off and the costs to run the place there is not a lot in it. Maybe you could stay in Wanganui and therefore pay nothing for accommodation....just a thought!

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed 1 night in October 2012 and after arriving late from the airport the hotel was still cooking pub type food (which was huge and delicious). I then got roped into karaoke. I had intended to go to bed straight after dinner. But it was very late before I got there. I had a great time and would recommend to anyone. I am 50 years young and traveling on my own and felt very comfortable there. I will definitely stay there again. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntydence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks Auntydence for your great comments.

Great to have you with us and great to hear you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

heatpump in my room wasnt working properly, i needed the mini-heater for some warm, the weather was very wet and cold begin march.
i cant say if the staff are friendly and helpful, i spend 3 nights there but never saw any of the staff (except for the cleaners). Also the bar is always very noisy evenings and nights and not only at the weekends, locals come and go as i assume its their regulary wateringhole. Its not to far from the beach and thats handy if you are into surfing because there is a strong surf, so not for childeren.
All by all its ok for a couple days for an old solo- or couple travelers to spend 1 or 2 nights passing though. And if you are into pubs and drinking its ideal as the rooms are opposite the bar so you can drink and dont need to drive, but the noise sounds awful in the rooms.

Room Tip: no good rooms if you are sensitive to loud noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you pol G for your review.

I am concerned that your heatpump was not working properly and I hope you raised that issue with the cleaning staff/management. Our heat pumps are relatively new and should not be playing up and without customer feedback we never know that things are not working as they should be.

As for the noise from the bar, yes it is the local watering hole for many locals but we ensure the pub is closed from 10.30pm during the week and before midnight on Fridays/Saturdays. We have recently built a timber screen on the outdoor area of the pub so hopefully that will mitigate the noise as well.

Apologies about the weather but that is Dunedin for you! Hopefully we will see you again if ever you are down this way. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed there for a couple of nights. The staff was very accommodating. Rooms and bathroom are on the smaller side but have all the basic motel room appliances (fridge, toaster kettle and even a blow dryer). This was our first hotel during our New Zealand trip and my wife was pleasantly surprised that they provided milk fro morning tea/coffee. Free internet is limited to 100Mb which is not much these days, but staff was helpful if it was exceeded. It's not a Hilton, but the price is more than fair and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure you have some cash since their machine was the only one that did not like my Canadian Visa c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you Herbert S for your nice comments.

Yes we are a no frills alternative to staying in a more upmarket establishment but our guests are better off as they are saving lots of $$$. We are clean, comfortable and affordable.

Thanks for staying and maybe we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent one night at this comfortable, very clean and top notch location. In 5 minutes we could walk along the beach by the Pacific Ocean. This accommodation is all that is needed after weary hours of travel. We enjoyed a few libations before heading to a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you Angela O for your positive review of our accommodation at the Ocean Beach Hotel.

We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and it certainly is a testament to the hard work of our cleaning staff to receive such positive reviews as yours. Many thanks!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels here in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have stayed here for a total of seven nights over three visits in the last two months. Yes the units are small but are very comfortable and r clean. The beds are comfortable and the staff are very friendly. We have had two meals in the hotel and thought like the units they were very good value for money. On our last visit we were one unit away from the road and thought there could be a noise problem, but this was not a problem.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rusham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you Rusham F for your nice review.

It is great to hear back from return guests such as yourselves who appreciate what we are offering and the price we charge. Yes we have basic rooms but they are clean and comfortable and certainly fit for purpose. The added advantage of having the bar next door is that you can get something to eat without needing to drive anywhere.

We look forward to you staying with us again one day in the future. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed two nights at the Ocean Beach Hotel. I am much use to staying at more upmarket places than this but, The staff we very friendly, and I found it very good to be able to get food and wine on site after a long day working.
My room did smell of smoke, which I did point out to the staff. It is not the hotels fault, but the fault of the recent customer who did not abide by the hotel rules.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thanks Kathy L for your review.

We apologise for the stale smoke smell and hopefully this did not upset you. We have a stringent non smoking policy but guests do at times flout these rules. Thank you for pointing this out to our staff.

We look forward to accommodating you again next time you need to go to Dunedin for work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#49 of 61 in Dunedin
121 reviews
2 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
115 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadian Motel
Arcadian Motel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 134 Prince Albert Road | St Kilda, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Ocean Beach Hotel is a friendly neighbourhood Bar that offers Bistro meals. It contains a Pool Table, Dart Boards and an 10 Machine Gaming Room. We provide Motel style accommodation with each of our ten units having been refurbished in 2011. Easy walking distance to the beach and the main street of South Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing