We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Motel”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hotel its not ,but very comfortable ,clean adequate room for one night stopover compared to the other 9 motels we stayed at on this two week trip around New Zealand. We chose it for its proximity to a beach which was nice. It was an easy drive into the centre in the evening.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank horizonevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you horizonevent for your positive review of our property.

Yes we are a motel but here in New Zealand older pub type establishments have alwys been know as Hotels which is what we are hence the name Ocean Beach Hotel. We just happen to have accommodation as well.

Glad to hear you appreciated us for what we are and had a good experience.

Many thanks and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    90
    41
    8
    10
See reviews for
40
86
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

found the staff and patrons of the bar to be very friendly. Room was comfortable, clean and tidy and we were going to stay another night but an emergency at home changed our plans. Thanks guys for a pleasant stay and we will be back..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garriocktribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you garriocktribe for your review.

Great to hear you had a good time and sorry about the reasons for having to get back to Christchurch so quickly, hopefully everything turned out OK.

We look forward to seeing you again one day. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I found the service to be great, the rooms were clean and tidy and it was a quiet location. The bed was comfortable and the facilities were fine. Handy to shopping and only a short drive into the main shopping centre. A short stroll to the beach. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks Mark D for your review.

Great to have you stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your time. And yes contrary to the occasional negative reviewer we believe we are extremely good value for money. Thanks for the endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We found this motel very basic but adequate for our weekend stay. We travelled with 4 other couples and enjoyed having the bar opposite so we could have a few drinks and a meal and then wander off to bed when it suited. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ninepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you Ninepin for your positive comments.

It is a good to hear you took advantage of the bar next door for food and drinks. Yes we are cheap and cheerful and fill an obvious gap in the accommodation market. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was a one night stop over. Reception was not friendly. The room was dirty, my book stuck to the bedside table. I would not recommend this accommodation. The reason we chose it was it proximity to the beach which was great...a 2 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 55Unimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks 55Unimpressed for your review.

As noted in previous reviews we did have problems with one of our cleaning staff upto 12 months ago but she was let go and now we have a head house cleaner who checks the work of the other cleaning staff all of whom are very good at their work. We no longer have dirty units.

Yes we are close to the magnificent St Kilda beach so we are pleased you enjoyed that experience.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Comfortable bed, warm room with heat pump. Only hassle was not being able to fit the electric jug under the basin tap. The friendliness of the staff and other patrons was great. Handy location to bus services and the beach, and a dairy just across the road.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good but if staying in wet weather, get a room near the back - they're clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you Michale D for your positive review.

Sorry about the tap situation and yes we do understand what you mean. We have provided jugs in each unit for that purpose so maybe next time you stay you can use them to fill the electric jug.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Was adaquite but small clean very noisy bar to all hours of morning very cold being middle of winter was a bit expensive for facility's offered.Was still thinking that this was the original hotel but had been demolished 2 years before now only very old motels real needs major upgrade.


Date traveled was July 2012

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BeamerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you Beamer Dave for your review.

Yes the winters do get cold in Dunedin hence we have installed heat pumps in every unit which make them quite cosy very quickly. The bar next door is never open later than 11.30pm so I disagree with your comment "open to all hours in the morning". As for being expensive, you only paid $79 for your own self contained room with a bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge! All recently renovated (2 years ago). That is neraly backpacker prices for all of the above. Sorry I don't know what you think you should have paid but once GST is taken off and the costs to run the place there is not a lot in it. Maybe you could stay in Wanganui and therefore pay nothing for accommodation....just a thought!

Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 57 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Best Western 555 On Bayview
2.9 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 134 Prince Albert Road | St Kilda, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Ocean Beach Hotel is a friendly neighbourhood Bar that offers Bistro meals. It contains a Pool Table, Dart Boards and an 10 Machine Gaming Room. We provide Motel style accommodation with each of our ten units having been refurbished in 2011. Easy walking distance to the beach and the main street of South Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing