We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here as part of a business trip to Dunedin. I enjoyed the location close to the beach. I spent a pleasant evening at the bar watching the rugby and had a great pub meal. The room was warm and comfortabe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Joe A and thank you very much for your positive view on Ocean Beach Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that even though you were on business you found our standard of accommodation sufficient for your needs and were able to enjoy the pub next door. Great to hear.

Next time you are down in Dunedin please do stay again.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    82
    39
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
78
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for in this place. At $79 for a twin room I didn't expect much and wasn't disappointed. The room was clean and well presented with very basic amenities. Everything worked. I didn't go into the hotel which is on the same premises, but would imagine it could be quite handy for some. They do offer meals although very basic with not a lot of variety.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks Mark O for your comments.

Yes $79 is not much I agree but what you get is very good value, a Queen Sized Bed, Heat Pump, tea/coffee making facilities, room with ensuite, parking right outside your unit......all in all great value. The bar across the way makes good food and of course you can have a glass of wine/beer if you so desire.

Alternatively you could pay $130 plus just down the road for not a lot more so I think you made a good choice...and saved some money.

See you again next time you are down our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms are lovely and very comfortable but it is incredibly noisy with the hotel at the front of the units. We didn't get to sleep until the hotel had been vacated. Also the outdoor smoking facility is close by so you get that noise as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thanks Chrissy F for your review.

We would like to apologise for any noise related issues you experienced with your recent stay with us. The bar shuts no later than 11pm and yes whilst noise does sometimes come across to the units from bar patrons we certainly do not encourage loitering once the premises have closed. For most nights of the week the pub closes much earlier than that.

We are pleased you enjoyed the rooms. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice Motel for affordable price, with everything you need to have a continental breakfast at your room. Although the section and the surroundings where not very attractive with the gravel of the carpark and the absence of green, the room was clean and comfortable. And the Motel pub had a good ambient on that Friday night. I fond the location very convenient, next to the beach and easy to get to the octagon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RODRIGO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Rodrigo D for your positive comments.

Glad to hear you found your room clean and comfortable. We look forwrad to your return one day.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel for 3 nights and I found the room to be very clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff were very friendly and the bar staff were very professional and welcoming and the food at the pub was excellent. The beach was 2 minutes walk away and it was easy to get into town from this location. I will be staying at the Ocean Beach Hotel next time I visit Dunedin.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 737julz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks 737julz75 for your review.

Great to hear you were well accommodated and found all of our staff very friendly. Yes please do stay with us when you are in Dunedin next but make sure you book ahead as we are getting many happy repeat customers with some unable to stay as we are full!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hotel its not ,but very comfortable ,clean adequate room for one night stopover compared to the other 9 motels we stayed at on this two week trip around New Zealand. We chose it for its proximity to a beach which was nice. It was an easy drive into the centre in the evening.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank horizonevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you horizonevent for your positive review of our property.

Yes we are a motel but here in New Zealand older pub type establishments have alwys been know as Hotels which is what we are hence the name Ocean Beach Hotel. We just happen to have accommodation as well.

Glad to hear you appreciated us for what we are and had a good experience.

Many thanks and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

found the staff and patrons of the bar to be very friendly. Room was comfortable, clean and tidy and we were going to stay another night but an emergency at home changed our plans. Thanks guys for a pleasant stay and we will be back..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garriocktribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you garriocktribe for your review.

Great to hear you had a good time and sorry about the reasons for having to get back to Christchurch so quickly, hopefully everything turned out OK.

We look forward to seeing you again one day. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#54 of 58 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
2.9 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
2.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 134 Prince Albert Road | St Kilda, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Ocean Beach Hotel is a friendly neighbourhood Bar that offers Bistro meals. It contains a Pool Table, Dart Boards and an 10 Machine Gaming Room. We provide Motel style accommodation with each of our ten units having been refurbished in 2011. Easy walking distance to the beach and the main street of South Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing