We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to other reviews”
Review of No.7 Balmac

No.7 Balmac
Ranked #12 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dunedin's best kept secret eatery!
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to other reviews”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The food was nice enough - the staff pleasant - the wine selection for the variety we prefer was poor. We wouldn't rave about the place and won't be back. There are other choices which are much better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie52Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    59
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food with great wine”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hubby took me by surprise and reminded me that as parents, eating out together is not a sin. We arrived to a busy hum and were immediately greeted by the friendly woman who came out from behind the bar to seat us (a rarity sometimes in Dunedin). We ordered souffle for entree (to share) which was divine and just the right size. I ordered pork belly for main and my husband ordered lamb with a side of vegetables to share. They arrived hot and without delay and were just divine. Dessert was affagato with coffee to follow and it was absolute perfection. I simply could not fault the service or the food. Although the restaurant was busy, our waitress was attentive and checked in with us to make sure that we had plenty of water and our needs were well catered for. After dinner, we went home feeling full and happy. I would definitely recommend No. 7 Balmac. Everyone who we have spoken to who has eaten there has enjoyed it immensely. I have also been there for lunch and for coffee and on every occasion, I have enjoyed going back. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monstar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favourite for lunch or dinner!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We love going to No.7 Balmac,the food is always fresh and the menu has plenty of choices for everyone.The service is fantastic,our meals are always served with a smile and nothing is ever a problem.The chips are a family favourite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liztdunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Took some friends from overseas here. It was a pretty quiet night which was in our favor, but we were really impressed. The service was friendly, prompt and efficient. Excellent wine and beverage lists. The breads were well done and the dips a great accompaniment.

The mains were brought out in good time and were stunningly presented. Taste was amazing too. All in all a great night out for not a large amount of money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but some food a bit disappointing”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Nice atmosphere ,with a nice hum but not too noisy for conversation. The service was reasonably good though they were out of the first wine we ordered and they obviously hadn't noted who ordered what when they came to deliver the meals. I had the pasta with salmon , asparagus and courgette . Tasty enough but a bit dry with no sauce. The Christmas pudding was a huge disappointment to both of us . It was a steamed pudding with some currants on top not a a real Christmas pudding. Felt a bit cheated on that one!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.7 Balmac also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to No.7 Balmac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing