We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engaging quality”

Scotia Restaurant & Whisky Bar
Ranked #38 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Scotia Restaurant provides a premium dining experience, Our cuisine is Traditional Scottish meets New Zealand Fusion, Come in and enjoy some true southern hospitality & Peruse our single Malt collection
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Engaging quality”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I, along with son and partner, enjoyed a dinner here on our last night (a Friday) in Dunedin. As others have said, the atmosphere - especially on a cold winter night - was warm and cosy, much like my experiences in similar restaurants across Scotland over the years. We were seated at a bay window table, which provided a 'wrapped around' feeling that enhanced the warm air and muted, though not dull, lighting. Both the maitre-d' and our wait person were friendly and inviting, and engaged us as we expect in a fine dining restaurant such as Scotia. The food has a distinct Scottish theme with - indeed - haggis on the menu. This was served in a non-traditional way, with plating of our entrées involving small cylinder of haggis (sans skin) placed between similar sized servings of 'neeps' and 'tatties'. It was not ceremonially brought in to the accompaniment of bagpipes as has been my experience on many occasions in Scotland - not a practical proposition in the restaurant anyway! Our mains were: aged scotch fillet of beef, house smoked scotch fillet of beef on mushroom ragout, confit of pork belly served with crushed black pudding, and confit of wild Central Otago hare. All of these were simply presented, but displayed a very flavoursome, earthy character. The restaurant was not quite full from what we could see, but we did not experience any issues with service, noise, or indeed anything that detracted from the ability of our small group of four from enjoying a cosy evening out at this restaurant. Recommended. (Good single malt selection too.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    76
    25
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Otago Warmth”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This wonderful restaurant located in Stuart St, just up from the Octagon, has the most wonderfully warm atmosphere and ambiance. Being a deprived Cantabrian of wonderful old buildings, it was a joy to experience the old establishment atmosphere of this glorious property. Attentive staff, fine food, especially if you enjoy game food, and delightful desserts with a very good wine list. A little pricey and my hare was a bit on the dry side, but still a pleasant evening out. When full can be rather noisy, so more suited to small or medium groups than a quiet tête-à-tête.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“All Good”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

In a lovely old style building with Scottish type decor, this is a classy restaurant. The food is some of the best in town and the service is top notch. Don't miss it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not romantic, not what we expected”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I booked a weekend in Dunedin and dinner at Scotia for our 15th wedding anniversary. I booked via email, sending a chatty message saying how we'd lived in Scotland and were looking forward to experiencing a bit of Scotland again and that we were really excited about coming. The reply was "Thank you for your booking. Please supply your cell phone number." Not friendly and not what I was expecting. We were seated very close to a loud group of 6 and the table was squashed up against the window. Not very romantic. In addition, it was a thoroughfare for the waiter and waitress on their way to the kitchen so I noticed how many times they flew by, as they brushed by me. The food was OK; mine was over salty and when I commented on this the waitress said that it was probably the 'jus' that the cabbage/potato was in. We went upstairs to the bar afterwards to have a wee dram of whisky and again, tried to converse with the waiter saying how we'd visited Edradour in Perthshire and it was the smallest distillery in Scotland. No reply. Just "Do you want water with it?" "OF COURSE NOT!!"

A really disappointing experience for us; we spent $180 and that's a real treat evening out. We had been looking forward to it so much. We won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated - good food not great”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Meals were very good - but not value for money.
Overrated
Bottle of Pinot was $78
Will not go back there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paulz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotia Restaurant & Whisky Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Scotia Restaurant & Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing