We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Camp estate is a short walk from Larnach Castle on a hill which makes for very good views over Dunedin. What it sets apart from other hotels is the way they treat the travellers. For only a handful of rooms they have two hosts (Catherine and Mike) who are just there to fulfill every wish. From carrying the bagagge over arranging all the little details of our stay (dinner at the castle, Elm tour) to the last day (s.b.) they were 100% friendly and service minded with a very relaxed attitude.

The Estate in itself is very nice. A very large entrance ahll and staircase, a nice library with a fire and a largehonesty bar, a very modern kitchen in which the breakfast was served and a modern room with a large bath. All pretty new and perfectly clean. The room had a nice open gasfire, a well stocked minibar, lots of storeroom and a PC with a free internet access (TV was also there but we did not use it).

The bath had a large rainshower with lots of hot water (see below) all amenities and space enough for two.

You can sit outside in the back and enjoy the view on the hill or have a nice chat in the evening in the library.

The estate is of course about 5-10 minutes windy road from the next restaurant so a dinner at the castle (including transport service) seems a natural choice but it might have been that they had to cater for too many people on that day but they had troubles seating guest, getting food out, filling up glasses and the lamb was seriously overdone. Maybe they show a better performance with not so many guests.

On our last day the pump for cold water went out and so taking a shower was impossible (the first time I had too much hot water anywhere). We were offered the bath of another room with water carried by bucket (!) up for us which we declined due to time constraints but the way they treated this malheur was wonderful. With a lot of humor, willing to offer a fast solution and a compensation and still able to prepare us a wonderful breakfast.

Which by the way, freshly prepared with lots of fresh fruit, bread, cereals and cooked items was a feast in itself. No need for any other food until the evening. One evening we had a platter which was waiting for us together with the hostess until very late and we could decide where to eat. The platter was wonderful and more than satisfying for two hungry people.

All in all a wonderful place to stay and to be pampered.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

This was, by far, the highlight of our three week trip in New Zealand. We stayed here for one night in December and will definitely come back again. This place is absolutely stunning. We had purchased a package that included one night's accommodation, a bottle of bubbly, entry to the castle, a three course meal at the castle and a cooked breakfast. It was worth every cent. Mike and Catherine made us feel very welcome and we had great conversations with the other couples staying at the estate. The dinner at the castle was very entertaining and the meal tasted great. The room was superb - the bed was super comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. There was a huge bath in the bathroom which, unfortunately, I didn't get to use but the bathroom was magnificent. There was a small laptop in the room. We were very reluctant to leave. Do yourself a favour and spend a night or two in this fantastic accommodation.

Room Tip: All the rooms at Camp Estate are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is the sort of place you don't want to review as it will be hard to book next time!
We could not pass up the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Package with dinner in the Castle dining room.
We felt special from the moment we arrived when the gates were opened for us, the sitting room fire was lit and we were given a choice of the rooms -one with the view back down the harbour or the Spa bath room with a hill view -rather splendid in Spring with ewes and lambs.
The brand new manor house has amazing, over the top glamour with white marble floors and art deco mirroring.
Breakfast is in the huge kitchen area and was a treat too.
At 7pm, Mike brought the car to the door to drive us to the castle steps and returned for us after dinner.
Dinner was memorable -with 2 other couples who were staying in the Lodge.
Unlimited Castle and gardens entry was included in our package ($54 worth) and we were made to feel we belonged there by all the staff -made the stay very special indeed.
Would be great for a wedding anniversary -but was so well priced it fitted in to our weeek's touring budget!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronwynMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear BronwynMelbourne,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Camp Estate and are looking forward to having you visit again.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After staying at Larnach Castle Lodge 3 years ago we decided the Camp Estate was just what I needed for 10 days of rest and recuperation. Did we make the right choice? Unanimously YES! We were made very welcome by hosts Mike and Catherine who also made breakfast for us in the breakfast room downstairs. They went out of their way to provide my very specific dietary requirements and let the castle chef know for when we dined at the castle ( A must do when you stay as Winifred is a wonderful storyteller ). We were chauffeured to dinner at the castle and collected promptly. They also assisted with the touristy things. Room was well prepared including heated bathroom floor, laptop and free internet, foxtel and gas fire. The house was quiet even with other guests and an easy walk to the castle which was free entry to us. Views were not as spectacular as the Lodge at the castle. Dunedin, Larnach Castle and Camp Estate was another adventure and a delectable one at that.

Room Tip: Ask for Habour View room for sights of Dunedin or the Spa room for a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madonna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Madonna P,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Camp Estate. Thank you for your lovely review.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pialein3013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonusfumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnach, Public Relations Manager at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
633 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
738 reviews
6.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel St Clair
Hotel St Clair
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Estate at Larnach Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Estate at Larnach Castle

Address: 100 Camp Road, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £258 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camp Estate at Larnach Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Camp Estate at Larnach Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing