We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
136
24
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
24
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fire other guests otago peninsula new zealand beautiful estate marble floors guest rooms communal table country house pre dinner drinks large kitchen cooked breakfast sitting room a wonderful place to stay minute drive following morning rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I highly recommend Camp Estate as a wonderful place to stay. The staff were very attentive. We had great views overlooking the peninsula, it is a short walk to Larnach's Castle. (Shuttle is available) I would recommend Camp Estate as a top notch destination for any special occasion.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank empresskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larnach2017, Public Relations Manager at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi empresskiwi

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Camp Estate.
Kind regards
Deborah Price
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

It should be made clear to people when booking that the actual accommodation is not within the castle itself. This was not a problem for us as we stayed two nights a Lodge which is a stand alone building at the rear of the Castle and four nights a the Camp Lodge which is down the road some five hundred meters. Both options are great in that they are quite at night and you can sleep without a disturbing sound. We drove to Dunedin which was about fifteen or so minutes away. We had the group evening meal in the Castle which was well worth the experience and the food was very good. Just learning about the history of the castle was a treat.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johngryan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingSupport, assistant at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us at Camp Estate and Larnach Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience, and were able to dine with us the Castle. We hope you made the most of your time in Dunedin, and in particular, our special location on the Otago Peninsula.

Warm regards on behalf of the Barker Family and the staff at Larnach Castle.

Reid | Marketing Support | Larnach Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Camp Estate at Larnach Castle is amazing! The rooms are very comfortable and the entire property is beautiful. Scott and Kim were so nice and helpful. They made a great stay even better! I would recommend a stay here to anyone looking to treat themselves. Also, the proximity to the castle is very convenient. Dinner at the castle was also great!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SheIsKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larnach2017, Public Relations Manager at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Hi SheIsKelsey

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with Kim and Scott at Camp Estate.
We hope you get the chance to visit us again some time in the future.
Kind regards
Deborah Price
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We stayed here during a four-week trip to New Zealand in November 2015 (sorry it's taken so long to write a review :-) and this was one of the best and most unique places we stayed. The setting is incomparable, our room was luxurious and comfy, and the hospitality offered by the staff was very genuine and memorable. We would go out of our way to stay here again if we're lucky enough to make another trip to New Zealand..

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Tahanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingSupport, assistant at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving a review of your previous stay with us at Camp Estate. We are thrilled to hear that your visit was a memorable once, and that you are taking the time to leave a review nearly two years on. It is always great to have positive feedback on the hospitality provided by our staff.

No doubt we look forward to hosting you once again if you do make it back to New Zealand!

Warm regards on behalf of the Barker Family and the staff at Larnach Castle.

Reid | Marketing Support | Larnach Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I was travelling with my partner and wanted to stay on the Otago peninsula. We looked at staying at the castle but wanted something a bit more luxurious. Camp Estate was perfect. Not only were the rooms devine our hosts were so welcoming and accomodating. By day three after spending the day sightseeing we felt like we were coming home. Everything has been thought of to make your stay wonderful. Highly recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sheppard_monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingSupport, assistant at Camp Estate at Larnach Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Monique,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at Camp Estate. We are always thrilled to hear from our guests that they enjoyed their visit. We look forward to the possibility of hosting you again in the future.

Warm regards on behalf of the Barker Family and the staff at Larnach Castle.

Reid | Marketing Support | Larnach Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews