We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time for lunch”

Carey's Bay Historic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Step back in time for lunch”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We called into Carey's Bay Restaurant for an early lunch after driving to the end of the peninsula to Aramoana (which is a beautiful beach and well worth a visit I might add). The restaurant is on the ground floor of the gorgeous historic building (see photo) but instead of entering through the grand front door, large signs usher you around the corner to the side entrance. Thankfully the restaurant was all but empty so we were able to choose a table by the front window. Not sure if the lady who greeted us had had a bad night before or something but the reception was cool at best, more like our arrival was a nuisance! Our meals were very average. Beer battered fish and chips were hugely disappointing. We're right on the bay with fishing vessels across the road yet the fish tasted like frozen hoki even though we were told it was Sole :-( And the crispy chicken salad was literally drenched in a rich, too sweet, honey based sauce.
While we were there another larger family group arrived who spoke like they frequented the restaurant often, so maybe our visit / experience was unusual I'm not sure, what I am sure of is that we won't be going back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeonieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    73
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This pub is down the road from me. It has awesome food, salads, platters and good pub tucker but It is not the cheapest I would say, but worth it if you have a buck or two to spend. Staff are friendly especially the chef and they let the Winter Sailing Series use it as a clubhouse, could it get better. It is set in a beautiful old hotel and has been lovingly restored. Perfect for a Sunday lunch with the family or a quick stop off for a pub when you have hidden up to Aramonana and back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VORTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and setting - no smiling service”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had already had a huge pub grub when we popped into Carey's Bay Hotel for a coffee so we didn't eat here. When we arrived we didn't feel like we were welcomed warmly at all, in fact, we sort of awkwardly wandered around towards a table by the window, settled ourselves and then started to look around the walls at the lovely paintings and photo's. While our drinks were being made we walked around really enjoying the historic feel of the place. Once settled we appreciated the lovely warm open fireplace, the huge bay window framing the water view perfectly and the character and true atmosphere of the place. We all enjoyed the cakes, tea and coffee and the tea service made us all giggle as it was served in "silver service" style, a lovely touch for a classic location. All in all, a wonderful spot to sit and chill out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Let down badly by very poor quality Steak meal”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

One of my favourite Dunedin restaurants and I have always had a great meal with friendy staff. The setting is great and quality of meals really good.
Went to see a live show - Paul Urbana-Jones and stayed for a meal. My steak was uneatable, tough and tasteless. It did not resemble a steak - more like leather.
The waiting staff advised me that the chef "thought it did not look like a great piece of meat" Really.....
They offered no charge but disappointing all the same.

It will not stop me going back but I will be hesitant to ask for a steak meal

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our group of 16 were seated at 2 tables in what used to be the pool room and were largely separate from other diners. It was Sunday lunch and the menu was good and prices appropriate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardener080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carey's Bay Historic Hotel also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Carey's Bay Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing