We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and clean hotel let down by exorbitent Internet charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stay in a number of hotels and one thing that has struck me about this trip is the large costs for Internet access in hotel rooms and this was easily the most expensive of the lot at a shade under NZD$30 per night with a measely 300MB usage allowance. Yes, that's MB and not GB. I do >300MB on my smartphone most days! The hard stop (after a slowdown) at 1000MB (so not even 1GB = 1024MB) was also mad and the online screen that went with it comical.

Apart from the odd Internet service (online should be free in all hotels around the world) the room was functional and clean, the location is good and the staff friendly although the facilities all closing early was a bit of an irritant as I had to go back out to get a drink post 9pm on the Sunday night. Dunedin is a top town and always worth a visit, definitely check it out - but the hotel could be better value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SockedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Good service, pleasant surroundings, good food, handy to the City. It's a shame I don't travel to Dunedin more often.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDowneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel could use with updating. The rooms were a little dated. There is not a lot of parking available. The best part about this hotel is the restaurant. A great deal - the food was great and did not cost a lot. The hotel is average. If the rooms were updated this could be a great hotel. Very close to downtown. Good location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Disappointed. Does not live up to the brand of Millenium hotels. Friends of ours stayed at the same time and had the same impression.
It badly needs reno and maybe front counter staff could have some customer service training.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Great location within CBD and had a nice carpark too. Views from the carpark are nice. The service behind the front desk was excellent and very friendly and helpful. Had the duty manager when we checked in and a lovely gentleman when we checked out. Didn't utilise the restaurant but a very comfortable stay and it was quite full that night but not noisy at all. We stayed in the older part of the hotel but it was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PosyRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This hotel is very well located - just a short walk to the center of town. I stay here often. It is very good value if you book through the NZ Millennium Hotels website - usual cost around $90 for a double room. Views are good - all rooms face North so you get what sun there is. Parking is OK unless the hotel is full. If you get a shuttle from the airport is usually one of the first stops. Rooms are clean and tidy although some can be a bit 'tired'. Breakfast is a bit pricey, but good. Dinner is usually OK, although this stay the Chef might have accidentally tipped the salt jar into the beef stew! Overall - a good honest clean kiwi hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Request higher and quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nautikos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Kingsgate Hotel at Easter - they had a special deal that included cooked breakfast.

The Hotel is located about 2 blocks from the Octagon and George Street.
The rooms, although fairly spacious were a little 'tired' and were in need of some renovation. All rooms had balconies with views that looked out over Dunedin.
There were 2 beds in the room, 1 single and the main bed was only a double and not the most comfortable we've slept on with old soft pillows. The heating was good though

The room had an ugly looking ceiling with some sort of textured / asbestoes looking beams. This could easily be fixed by covering the ceiling with some gib board and painting it. - would make it a lot more attractive

The TV was an old clunky smaller one and the picture quality, although acceptable was not the best, and there were a limited number of chanels to choose from. Most Motels / Hotels these days have newer 'flat screen' TV's.

The rooms also had zero sound proofing, as we could hear people in the other rooms at 7am in the morning!

Car parking is also a problem - they don't have enough car parks for the number of rooms in the hotel - so it works on a first in first served basis and we had to park our car on the road for the 2nd night.

The bathroom was clean and they had a shower over the bath.

The best thing was the breakfast in the morning - continental buffet with cereals, fruit, toast, juice and coffee - plus a full cooked breakfast with bacon, eggs, sausages, tomato.

With a little renovation, sound proofing, more comfortable beds and a decent TV, this would be a great place to stay, and we would happily pay a bit more for the experience

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing