We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic comfortable accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Basic comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Although the hotel is somewhat plain and basic, we were comfortable our two nights in this hotel and enjoyed our stay. The location is very good - close to the Octagon but up a steep hill - if you are walking impaired you need to think about using a taxi.

Our room was large and spacious, with one double bed and one single. Sliding doors led to a balcony which could badly use a coat of paint and freshening up. The furnishings were newish but not elegant or fancy. There was plenty of room for two suitcases on the luggage table. Although without a writing desk, there was a round table with two comfortable chairs. Nighttime lighting was dim - one reading light between the two beds and one floor lamp in the corner. Mattress on the small bed was medium hard but comfortable. The big mattress was soft - watch out if you are prone to lower back problems. Pillows were thin and on the hard side. Bedding was different but flexible - a light comfortable top sheet with two blankets - ready for any temperature.

Bathroom had a large counter with plenty of room for all your stuff. Taking a shower involved a continuous fight with the shower curtain - maybe soon NZ will discover the curved curtain rods now prevalent in American hotels. Room included a working hairdryer and a full length mirror. The Tv was old and received only 8 channels. No wireless in the room; 20 minutes free in the bar. The hotel offered 3 computer stations but they were quite expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    162
    122
    25
    11
See reviews for
74
138
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Octagon and the centre of Dunedin, so there's plenty to do nearby. Our room was clean and spacious.
My only problem with this hotel was the laundry facilities - this is a fairly big hotel but has only one washing machine and one tumble drier. We were travelling on a coach tour, so inevitably there were several people all trying to do laundry each evening. Unfortunately, we chose to do our laundry the night we were staying at this hotel - there was a long queue for the one washing machine and drier, and it was pretty hectic. This obviously isn't the end of the world for a hotel stay - just try to plan not to do your laundry here if you can.
The buffet food we had here was great, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Here for just one in late January, the hotel is close to the City Centre, just up the road from Robbie Burns statue. I found the room to be quite large and in a clean/new condition. The Tv was an old style and the bathroom had a bath.
In relation to the food, I found the food was of good quality but perhaps not of the choice found at other hotels on my tour.
If staying here, go to Burns statue at the Octagon and proceed to the magnificent Railway Station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was staying here for three days while on a course. As per some of the other reviews, she is getting a bit tired and out dated (the building) but the staff and service out weighed the buildings condition. All the staff I dealt with were fantastic from the reception to restaurant staff. The food was as the menu. Says, "kiwi style" also tried the silver fern range one night. Had the venison and top marks to the chef. Didn't get to see the room service staff but the room was always left great once they had been in. As for location, only about 5 minutes walk to the Octagon. I was traveling on a motor bike and the staff went out of there way to put it in to a storage room for security. Great effort by all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel for only one night. The accomodation was reasonably priced and everything was clean and tidy. However, the hotel is looking somewhat tired and worn and in need of some refurbishment. It is within a short walking distance from the main train station albeit uphill and located close to the Octagon and nearby cafes and restaurants.
Free WiFi is not available and Broadband is expensive.The room rate, for two (NZ$120) is reasonably although $4 is added to the bill for using a credit card. There is a sign at reception telling you this.
The staff we found friendly and helpful

Room Tip: OK for a one night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BremenCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights. In the process of refurbishment . My room had a new carpet and recently painted.
In an ok location but on a steep hill.
I did not try the restaurant located within the hotel.
I noticed wifi prices very steep. The public library halfway down the hill gives free wifi to anyone, so if you are willing to walk a few steps save 10 dollars+
Fire alarm went off around
9:30 one evening, be assured you would not sleep through a fire with that Siren.
An ok hotel in a reasonable location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmbpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed at the Kingsgate for two nights prior to new year. Found the hotel to be tired and dated.
There was a sign in the reception and on each level as you came out of the elvators advising minor refurbishing was being carried out during November & December. There was no sign of any work being done. Carpet was threadbare in several places and around the sides of the doors down the hallway to our room there was duct tape stripes - not sure if this was to cover holes or hold carpet down.
The bed was not the most comfortable and had a definite roll together in the middle. The sofa was waypast it's use by date with the seating cushions decidedly sagging and not at all comfortable for sitting on.
There is abalcony running the length of the room which is good as get good views of the city on the higher floors. This has old fashioned safety glass which is opaque so you cannot see through this when seated. You have to stdaning on the balcny to get the views.
The elevator took forever to each your floor and other than taking our bags up to and down from our room it was quicker to use the stairs.
The bathroom was the most up to date part of the room and was nicely tiled. There was on hairdryer in any of the obvious places and when we enquired at reception for a dryer we were advised this was in the draw under the tv by the receptionist in such a voice as to say that this was the most obvious place and silly us for not realising that.
Breakfast was very basic not very original - scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans and sausages, one morning there was tomatoes but not both days. There were only a few slices of white bread that looked like they had been there for a while so didn't even both to make toast. When we arrived the first morning we were told we could sit at either of two tables in a restaruant that only had one other couple there at the time. We weren't even asked if we wantaed tea or coffee and had to ask for this. It was served quite happily but the fact we had to ask for it was not good.
There is very limited parking so arriving late in the evening means you can only park on the street. There were two car parking lots right next door and given that this was new year week and majority of offices were closed we would have thought we could park in these lots but were advised against it. In the morning there were no workers cars there.

My partner stayed again two weeks later and was put in a suite on the fifth floor. This was not better than the room we had had previously. It did seem as it all the plumbing for the complex was piped down the walls of the room and was very noisy with the sound of water runnign all night. This may have been the air conditioning but unsure. Again the suite was dated.

Room Tip: Suies on the top floor are noisy and seem to have all the plumbing for the entire complex running do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Seamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your Feedback. Since Christmas, Kingsgate Hotel has had all the guest rooms and Public walkways re carpeted and re painted. We are continuing to invest in the hotel by replacing all the soft furnishings in the rooms over the next few weeks. We also have new restaurant tables and chairs arriving early February.The restaurant will also have a face lift with a new menu in place and will also be re painted. Regards Andrew General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#42 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing