We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE CENTRAL LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel some years ago when it was a Quality Inn property. Probably now in need of a bit of updating, but still good value, comfortable accommodation, and central location can't be bettered. Great view over the city. (That's why we chose to stay there again, for four nights). Car parking and access requires careful driving. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant was closed at the time of our stay, due to a fire in the kitchen. We were directed to a nearby cafe (Nova) in the Octagon - excellent food and service, with charge-back to our room. Breakfast was served in an upstairs function room at the hotel - a pleasant room with nice outlook over the city. Would definitely stay at Kingsgate again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brinmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Although the hotel is somewhat plain and basic, we were comfortable our two nights in this hotel and enjoyed our stay. The location is very good - close to the Octagon but up a steep hill - if you are walking impaired you need to think about using a taxi.

Our room was large and spacious, with one double bed and one single. Sliding doors led to a balcony which could badly use a coat of paint and freshening up. The furnishings were newish but not elegant or fancy. There was plenty of room for two suitcases on the luggage table. Although without a writing desk, there was a round table with two comfortable chairs. Nighttime lighting was dim - one reading light between the two beds and one floor lamp in the corner. Mattress on the small bed was medium hard but comfortable. The big mattress was soft - watch out if you are prone to lower back problems. Pillows were thin and on the hard side. Bedding was different but flexible - a light comfortable top sheet with two blankets - ready for any temperature.

Bathroom had a large counter with plenty of room for all your stuff. Taking a shower involved a continuous fight with the shower curtain - maybe soon NZ will discover the curved curtain rods now prevalent in American hotels. Room included a working hairdryer and a full length mirror. The Tv was old and received only 8 channels. No wireless in the room; 20 minutes free in the bar. The hotel offered 3 computer stations but they were quite expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Octagon and the centre of Dunedin, so there's plenty to do nearby. Our room was clean and spacious.
My only problem with this hotel was the laundry facilities - this is a fairly big hotel but has only one washing machine and one tumble drier. We were travelling on a coach tour, so inevitably there were several people all trying to do laundry each evening. Unfortunately, we chose to do our laundry the night we were staying at this hotel - there was a long queue for the one washing machine and drier, and it was pretty hectic. This obviously isn't the end of the world for a hotel stay - just try to plan not to do your laundry here if you can.
The buffet food we had here was great, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Here for just one in late January, the hotel is close to the City Centre, just up the road from Robbie Burns statue. I found the room to be quite large and in a clean/new condition. The Tv was an old style and the bathroom had a bath.
In relation to the food, I found the food was of good quality but perhaps not of the choice found at other hotels on my tour.
If staying here, go to Burns statue at the Octagon and proceed to the magnificent Railway Station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was staying here for three days while on a course. As per some of the other reviews, she is getting a bit tired and out dated (the building) but the staff and service out weighed the buildings condition. All the staff I dealt with were fantastic from the reception to restaurant staff. The food was as the menu. Says, "kiwi style" also tried the silver fern range one night. Had the venison and top marks to the chef. Didn't get to see the room service staff but the room was always left great once they had been in. As for location, only about 5 minutes walk to the Octagon. I was traveling on a motor bike and the staff went out of there way to put it in to a storage room for security. Great effort by all.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel for only one night. The accomodation was reasonably priced and everything was clean and tidy. However, the hotel is looking somewhat tired and worn and in need of some refurbishment. It is within a short walking distance from the main train station albeit uphill and located close to the Octagon and nearby cafes and restaurants.
Free WiFi is not available and Broadband is expensive.The room rate, for two (NZ$120) is reasonably although $4 is added to the bill for using a credit card. There is a sign at reception telling you this.
The staff we found friendly and helpful

Room Tip: OK for a one night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BremenCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights. In the process of refurbishment . My room had a new carpet and recently painted.
In an ok location but on a steep hill.
I did not try the restaurant located within the hotel.
I noticed wifi prices very steep. The public library halfway down the hill gives free wifi to anyone, so if you are willing to walk a few steps save 10 dollars+
Fire alarm went off around
9:30 one evening, be assured you would not sleep through a fire with that Siren.
An ok hotel in a reasonable location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmbpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
286 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing