We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Lovely accommodation and lovely staff...will definitely stay there again! Very central to everything and within nice walking distance. Rooms were always clean and comfortable!
Was able to get room on your $67 a night deal - was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your Feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin next time you are in the South Isalnd. I am glad that you found the Team great as we try our best at all times to exceed guest expectations and add the personnal touch.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    162
    122
    25
    11
See reviews for
74
138
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howick, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Can do with some new tv's. But great in most aspects

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in most aspects. I will pass on your comeents regarding the TV's. We are currnetly completing a soft Refurbishmant of the hotel and the upgrade of TV's is part of the Refurbishment plan. We hope to welcome youback to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin on your next trip South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a great stay they threw in a upgrade. We stay here whenever in Dunedin. The rooms are basic but comfortable, quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Location is great being central. They have regular specials that are great value for money - check out their website.

Room Tip: check out their website for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank-you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin and your continued patronage with us during your visits to Dunedin. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kiinggstae Hotel on your next visit to Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

1 night I slept in this hotel and got no complaint. Average room, average breakfast, small lobby, old lift, no free wifi internet access.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you Alex for your comments. We are pleased to hear you had no complaints regarding your recent stay at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We hope we can welcome you back to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin one day. Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I really liked the service here which was friendly and helpful. Good info for tourists. The room was big and the beds were nice and the place was clean. The hallways were a bit old and scary but I have probably seen too many horror movies and could have an overactive imagination.
The parking was pretty scary, it is on a steep hill so getting in and out was tricky.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank-you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay withn us at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. One of the key things that the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin prides itself on is customer service and making our guests feel special. I am glad you felt that way about our team. Sorry about the hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. Centrally located with helpful staff and nothing more. Hotel might be OK for couples but definitely not for families. For NZD 185 per night there are excellent motels nearby. Dimly lit rooms with bad light fittings, shabby family room, very ordinary menu, shortage of power point to use, average cleanliness and expensive wi-fi. Compared to the some of the other places belonging to the Millennium & Copthorne Hotels and resorts chain, where we have stayed in the past, this one was below average.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I will address your concerns with our team. We are just in the process of completing a soft refurbishment and some of the areas that have been addressed are the lighting, Artwork and interior painting. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Hamilton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Room on 5th floor clean, comfortable, warm once I got the heater going. Great views. But why do some hotel rooms have such poor lighting and dearth of power points? I had to unplug the standard light to plug in my laptop, then the light was so poor it made reading associated paperwork almost impossible. The only light in the separate bedroom was beside the bed, and the previous one just inside the entry door, so one had to stumble through the dark .....

But bed was good, bathroom fine. Old CRT TV had poor reception on most of the 7 channels on offer, and only 1 sports so I missed the Breakers first (in best of 3) final win over Wildcats.

But an OK place to stay, especially if you were going to be out more than in.

Room Tip: Top couple of floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamahereKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#43 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing