We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Due To Hotel Management Kingsgate Dunedin NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
traverse city, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid Due To Hotel Management Kingsgate Dunedin NZ”
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We stayed the night of February 17th, parked our car as directed by the signage and went about our business. The next morning , we found a rather significant dent on the left rear corner panel of our rental car. There was no note left on the car. I immediately contacted the general manager, a Mr Andrew Whittaker, who happened to be on site. He looked at the car and offered to call our rental company in Christchurch which did nothing for us. He indicated it was entirely an insurance issue and he could not be sure it actually happened while parked on his lot. I as his paying customer and GUEST assured him it did happen on his lot. He again refused to accept any responsibility. I asked for a written policy indicating it was park at your own risk as he had said it was and he could not find the written policy but took me to a spot where the signage was 95% covered by a bush. (I will gladly supply pictures in 48hours) for you to see for yourself. In fact the street signage directed us AWAY from this obscure hidden sign. If we had known it was park at your own risk, we would have found other suitable parking.

In additon to the damge to the car, Mr Whittaker's attitude was basically: "too bad, so sad". It is not my problem.

I was always taught "the customer is always right". We are not claiming injury, only sking that the hotel do the "next right thing"

That is not the attitude of this hotels management. I recommend avoiding them at all costs. You can and deserve to be treated better.

  • Liked — Driving away
  • Disliked — Managements attitude towards their guests
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ingy104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    173
    128
    27
    11
See reviews for
78
148
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Needed a place for one night and so went to net, and found the Kingsgate, the rooms are old although the bathrooms have been redone. Beds were comfortable and the place was clean. We visited the restaurant on site and found the best sea food chowder since our last visit to san francisco. Overall a reasonable stop over but for the price could do with a major upgrade.

  • Liked — good quality food at restaurant
  • Disliked — tired looking building and rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glenroben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

The Hotel was comforting, it has electric blankets, and loads of blankets ( we needed them), Location says that CBD is on the doorstep, this is true, however if you want to go out at night for a meal and a few drinks, the walk up the hill is a major hike.
The meals in the resturant were OK, they had ran out of specials off the menu, its a small menu and a little pricey, the beers were arounf $6 NZ, although when we went to the bar to get drinks for the room, we couldnt find staff, ( as our mini bar wasnt stocked). When we eventualy got staff they didnt have alot of choices, all the requests we made, they had run out.
We spent our next night at the City Circle, that was much better and more convenient for location to resturants and bars.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank chadsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

We stayed at the Kingsgate Dunedin for 2 nights. As mentioned the hotel has a great location 5 minutes up the hill from the Octagon (center of town). (I find that in general, the CDL hotels are not flash but usually centrally located). It's functional and good value, the bathrooms have been nicely refurbished and are spick and span.

I got a rate of $119 for a twin room which included breakfast for 2 which is not bad. We had room 202 in which we were able to access the Wifi internet access, that was operating in their lounge down below our room, on our laptop. I think it was because we already had an Xtra account though.

The Hungry French man restaurant at the Octagon in the municipal building was a good restaurant, mid to top range price.

  • Liked — Location, new bathroom
  • Disliked — Steep carparks
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank yeowon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We stayed at the Kingsgate Dunedin for one night in Feb 07. Our overall impression was that we got pretty good value for money - the hotel was clean and generally in good order.
Parking can be something of an issue as there is limited space for hotel guests - best advice: get there early!
Our room was on the top floor and was hard to fault in terms of space, comfort and cleanliness. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
I would best describe the hotel as 'functional' - that is to say it provides pretty much everything you could want from a city centre hotel, without being in any way dazzling.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes' walk from the Octagon, which is the heart of the city. Plenty of shops to look around and plenty of decent places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank Waggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2006

Tired looking but clean Kingsgate. Good views over the city on the higher floors. Decorations look 30+yrs old. Furniture a better. Internet only available via modem if you have a local service provider. Restaurant typically expensive, but pub grub (speights) available ½ mile away. Bottle of complimentary wine provided, as it was our wedding anniversary holiday.
Breakfast available at $14 each.
City centre no more than 10 mins walk away. Noisy at night with city traffic (boy racers) – also locals in bar rowdy. Went on until 0400-0500, reception stated they had not had any previous complaints, but I could not believe that. The town centre is very nice, shopping wise but spoilt by seemingly endless youngsters racing around in their noisey cars.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2005

This hotel is dated and in need of some serious upgrading. In the first room the shower would only run hot, really hot! The clock didn't work either. The bathrooms are very old fashioned - really 1970's. The hotel gave us another room, but then the modem connection didn't work. The rooms allowed noise in from both the street and adjacent rooms, which was quite intrusive at times. The breakfast choice was good, but the hot food was generally lukewarm. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant. The staff were good at trying to fix the problems we had, but were fighting a bit of an uphill battle. The location is close to the city centre, but it is quite a climb up. Not suitable for the infirm.
Overall, we wished we had booked somewhere else and wouldn't recommend this hotel until it gets a facelift.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 16 July 2006
Agree - happy to advise that as of 17 July 2006 we are 75% through complete bathroom refurbishment including imported granite vanity units, new tiling form floor to ceiling and everything else in all bathroom brand new. Bathroom refurbishment will be completed by end of October 2006.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing