We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here two nights while attending the university graduation. Only one block to the Octagon in the centre of Dunedin, with an uphill walk which we were happy with but some may find a little steep.
Very comfortable room. Clean and tidy. Nice city view from our room on the third floor.
Enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant with good service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice comfy, clean hotel right in the centre of Dunedin and all for a very reasonable price. You can't fault the place really. The room that we stayed in had quite obviously been recently decorated and was really nice and modern and It was extremely well equipped with everything you would need for a stay of a night or two.

In a nutshell our stay at the Kingsgate was a positive one and I would certainly stay again when I next visit Dunedin.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 648DanielJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Room was nice and clean, plenty of room. Got a bucket of ice brought up. Meal was very nice , lamb rump. A little street noise, but you are in the middle of town. Lifts a little slow, staff friendly and polite

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The good: The rooms are clean, spacious and clean - however the interior is a little dated.
The service was good.
The special price was very good value.
Lots of sun made the room warm, even though it was winter and a cool day.

The bad: The only lift is original and small. I felt a bit claustrophobic in it.
The vent in the bathroom created a draft I could feel when I was in there.

The ugly: There is insufficient parking at the hotel, I had to park on the street. The driveway was very steep in places and I wouldn't want to use them on an icy, frosty morning.
I could hear University students partying well into the night. However, as it was a Graduation Day this may not be common.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel's location was very convenient to sightseeing in this interesting town- a short stroll down to the Octagon and many bars/ eateries, across the road to a great wee pub-the Scotia, and across the way to the Church-an impressive looking building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bailey74797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We value your comments and we are pleased that you had a pleasent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the location, the team and the hotel facilities.We are continually trying to improve our services and your feedback is invaluable.
We hope to see again one day at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin.

Andrew GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Overall this hotel was pretty good and I would recommend it for the price and location. You won't be wowed by the rooms but they're nice enough.

The room was an average hotel room, though it was very clean. There was no A/C in the room. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small but nice. The walls are not very thick or sound proof as we definitely heard a couple in the room next to us. We still managed to sleep well though.

The common areas were nice and the hotel staff was very helpful.

The location of the hotel is great, right off the Octagon and near the Speights Brewery.

There was no free breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Booked a studio room and upgraded on arrival. Nice comfortable room, bed was comfy, good convenient location to the Octagon and no traffic noise. Buffet breakfast was good and staff were helpful. Ticked all the boxes for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuzco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing