We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel needs a makeover. The welcome was excellent, and the room comfortable. But the whole place is dated and tired. Breakfast was very average. We were down for breakfast by 08.15, but had to ask for numerous items of food for the buffet breakfast. These were reluctantly brought out . Dinner was disappointing also. This was the third Millennium hotel for us to stay, and the common denominator in all was the below par dinner . Otherwise the location is very good for the city centre

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

There is nothing specifically wrong with the Kingsgate but there is nothing much right.

It does have a great location close to the town centre and Octagon.

Other than that it is very old and tired-it doesn't look like it has been decorated in 30 years, even down to the stippled ceilings.

There are better,
More modern options available locally and it is hard to recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Let's start by saying that this hotel is in an old building. It has been revamped (new carpet, paint, bathrooms, etc) which makes it livable, but you can't help to notice the general rundown feel to the building, and little things (like the balcony sliding door jamming). Probably most annoying thing was the single, very small, slow elevator. Which was very annoying when a coach load of tourists was disgorged into the smallish foyer to check-in and get up to their rooms (6 or 7 floor building). Parking was also a bit all over the place (geographically, not organizationally) if you happen to be turning up by car. And tourist-disgorging coaches (including luggage and disgorged tourists) block access to reception/lobby/elevator. And additional charge for wifi, which is unreasonable in this day and age. Now thats all out of the way - the good points. The hotel is really well located for exploring downtown Dunedin by foot - which was why we booked it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and were doing a pretty good job managing the constraints outlined above. Management had done a good job refitting the rooms (based on the room we stayed in for 1 night). The restaurant was very good (good service and tasty, good value, food), and the lobby bar had a friendly and comfortable feel to it (which can't be said for many hotels). If I was heading back to Dunedin, I would probably have a look around too see what else was available, but i'm guessing I wouldn't get much better for same price and proximity to CBD.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Booked in here because it was the most affordable hotel option, so was not expecting super-amazing things. The bed was the best I have slept on in any accommodation - super soft, super comfy. The bathroom was terrific- they even had a full size bath. Room service was great, and the view wasn't too bad. Was so impressed with it - would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Room tidy, well equipped, pleasant staff and perfect for the 2 nights with the 2 kids. Was put on the lowest floor with access to lift as we had two small children, which was very helpful. Included buffet breakfast which was fantastic. Had a great weekend, would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTK1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for the rugby a couple of weeks ago. Hotel was passable, there was scaffolding out my window and some works going on so was pretty noisy. Good location given its close to the centre, breakfast was pretty ordinary and the rooms ok. Bar was like being in someone's front room. Staff were friendly though.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gavmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a holiday to NZ. We found the room clean and comfortable. Our deal included a buffet breakfast both mornings which gave a reasonable choice of food. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on 1 night and loved both the meal and the service. The hotel is close to the city centre therefore easy to walk to some attractions. Car parking can be a little short at times. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing