We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality, but Internet is very poor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality, but Internet is very poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good, and has a great location with friendly attentive staff but... If you are going to offer internet, make it either at a good price, or offer decent bandwidth. At present this hotel does neither, which is why it does not rate better.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peterfitzroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I can assure you I will be discussing the Internet issues you have risen,with our provider and see how we can best meet our guests needs. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Dunedin.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    162
    120
    25
    11
See reviews for
74
137
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

One of the nicer hotels we stayed at. The room is large, plenty of room for luggage etc.
We stayed on the first floor.

Pros
- large LCD TV
- good shower/bath
- fridge
- big beds
- walking distance to Octagon and other central places

Cons
- not enough parking spots
- no free wifi
- not enough electrical outlets

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I can assure you I will be looking into the Cons that you alerted us to and continue to ensure that the Pro's section is highlighted to the team

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay while in Dunedin. Hotel very close to city centre for a nice easy walk. Friendly staff, nice meal in restaurant,room was clean and well appointed very comfortable bed.And very good value with breakfast included in tariff. Will stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netanya, israel
Level Contributor
211 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Kinggate hotel in Dunedin is pretty well located, not far from city center, the famous

Anglican church and its main shopping George street. Rooms are spacious with large TV's

(including CNN,rare in New Zealand).. Food on the other hand is a different story. Breakfast

has pretty poor selection with no vegetables at all..As for dinner- nothing to write home about

either. WI-FI is limited to 20 minutes free..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel needs a makeover. The welcome was excellent, and the room comfortable. But the whole place is dated and tired. Breakfast was very average. We were down for breakfast by 08.15, but had to ask for numerous items of food for the buffet breakfast. These were reluctantly brought out . Dinner was disappointing also. This was the third Millennium hotel for us to stay, and the common denominator in all was the below par dinner . Otherwise the location is very good for the city centre

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

There is nothing specifically wrong with the Kingsgate but there is nothing much right.

It does have a great location close to the town centre and Octagon.

Other than that it is very old and tired-it doesn't look like it has been decorated in 30 years, even down to the stippled ceilings.

There are better,
More modern options available locally and it is hard to recommend this place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Let's start by saying that this hotel is in an old building. It has been revamped (new carpet, paint, bathrooms, etc) which makes it livable, but you can't help to notice the general rundown feel to the building, and little things (like the balcony sliding door jamming). Probably most annoying thing was the single, very small, slow elevator. Which was very annoying when a coach load of tourists was disgorged into the smallish foyer to check-in and get up to their rooms (6 or 7 floor building). Parking was also a bit all over the place (geographically, not organizationally) if you happen to be turning up by car. And tourist-disgorging coaches (including luggage and disgorged tourists) block access to reception/lobby/elevator. And additional charge for wifi, which is unreasonable in this day and age. Now thats all out of the way - the good points. The hotel is really well located for exploring downtown Dunedin by foot - which was why we booked it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and were doing a pretty good job managing the constraints outlined above. Management had done a good job refitting the rooms (based on the room we stayed in for 1 night). The restaurant was very good (good service and tasty, good value, food), and the lobby bar had a friendly and comfortable feel to it (which can't be said for many hotels). If I was heading back to Dunedin, I would probably have a look around too see what else was available, but i'm guessing I wouldn't get much better for same price and proximity to CBD.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#42 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing