We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 17 January 2014

great place to stay staff very good and helpful biggest downer not enough parks for all the hotel and stressing to find a car park so did not have to park on street as we had a hire car; there should be enough car parks to cater for every one especially when there is car parks next door free but not aloud to use maybe hotel should try and lease them for the comfort of patrons

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I apologise for the iconvenience caused to you regarding the Car parking at the hotel we offer complimentary car parking to our guests where most hotels charge upto $20.00. We are currently looking at guests being able to pre book car parking at a minimal fee so as to guarantee a park. Iam pleased you found our team attentive and welcoming.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel is good, and has a great location with friendly attentive staff but... If you are going to offer internet, make it either at a good price, or offer decent bandwidth. At present this hotel does neither, which is why it does not rate better.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peterfitzroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I can assure you I will be discussing the Internet issues you have risen,with our provider and see how we can best meet our guests needs. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Dunedin.

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

One of the nicer hotels we stayed at. The room is large, plenty of room for luggage etc.
We stayed on the first floor.

Pros
- large LCD TV
- good shower/bath
- fridge
- big beds
- walking distance to Octagon and other central places

Cons
- not enough parking spots
- no free wifi
- not enough electrical outlets

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I can assure you I will be looking into the Cons that you alerted us to and continue to ensure that the Pro's section is highlighted to the team

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great place to stay while in Dunedin. Hotel very close to city centre for a nice easy walk. Friendly staff, nice meal in restaurant,room was clean and well appointed very comfortable bed.And very good value with breakfast included in tariff. Will stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Kinggate hotel in Dunedin is pretty well located, not far from city center, the famous

Anglican church and its main shopping George street. Rooms are spacious with large TV's

(including CNN,rare in New Zealand).. Food on the other hand is a different story. Breakfast

has pretty poor selection with no vegetables at all..As for dinner- nothing to write home about

either. WI-FI is limited to 20 minutes free..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel needs a makeover. The welcome was excellent, and the room comfortable. But the whole place is dated and tired. Breakfast was very average. We were down for breakfast by 08.15, but had to ask for numerous items of food for the buffet breakfast. These were reluctantly brought out . Dinner was disappointing also. This was the third Millennium hotel for us to stay, and the common denominator in all was the below par dinner . Otherwise the location is very good for the city centre

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

There is nothing specifically wrong with the Kingsgate but there is nothing much right.

It does have a great location close to the town centre and Octagon.

Other than that it is very old and tired-it doesn't look like it has been decorated in 30 years, even down to the stippled ceilings.

There are better,
More modern options available locally and it is hard to recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing