We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location; great food and friendly/helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The city is bigger than we expected with lots of one-way streets so we were grateful for our sat nav to find the hotel in the heart of the city, just above the Octagon (the main hub). The hotel is perched high above the city, close to St Paul's Cathedral and the First Church of Dunedin. The city views from our room were great and most of the main attractions are within easy walking distance (even if uphill on the way back). We also enjoyed a drive out to Amarouna where we walked along the beautiful sheltered sandy bay.

The room was quiet, well equipped and a good size. It had only one bed so there was plenty of space compared with many similar NZ hotels that insist on cramming 2 beds into a space that often isn't really big enough. The false alarm fire evacuation at 11pm was highly amusing and handled by staff, guests and fire brigade alike with good humour.

Check-in staff were very polite and helpful and booked a dusk visit to the Penguin Sanctuary for us (well worth the trip at a cost of $49pp but a very winding 40-45 minute drive along the water's edge). On our late return at 9pm from the sanctuary, the hotel restaurant staff were still happy to see us and were very friendly and efficient and the food was surprisingly good and well priced by hotel standards (huge and delicious surf and turf). The buffet breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms above Reception have great city views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank-you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay both at the hotel and your time in Dunedin. We apologise for the fire evacutation but are pleased you saw the funny side of this. We hope you had a safe trip back to the UK and hope to see you again back in Dunedin one day.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. It's in a great location, close to a lot of pubs and restaurants. Nice size room with nice amenities. Their is a hotel restaurant inside, and they have a decent breakfast buffet. I definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheMillPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank-you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin.We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the breakfast selection.Thank you for your feedback on our team at the Kingsgate hotel we pride ourselves on customer service and stirve to ensure that everyone reccomends us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunedin and the Kingsgate hotel in the future.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having just arrived in Dunedin we headed off to the I-Site and Peter from there booked a room for us at Kingsgate. The early check-in was very much appreciated. The hotel is clean, quiet but centrally located with the centre of Dunedin being less than 5 minutes walk. We had lovely over the town.

All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and efficient. We only ate breakfast in the hotel; the choice was buffet and cooked items. All tasty and well presented.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank-you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our team welcoming,friendly and professional. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate hotel on your next visit to Dunedin.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Arrived early and room was not ready but no problem and happy to store bag, as I went on my way. Returned later in the pm and room ready ... very nice room have to say with a balcony overlooking the city. Great bathroom , TV worked as did all the stuff... Location GREAT for the centre of town so very easy to walk everywhere. Had a great sleep and headed down for breakfast just after 9am. Only 2 people in the dining room so not over stretched.. buffet breakfast really rather ordinary , thermos flasks for coffee , and juices that certainly were not freshly squeezed... as for the hot option .... appalled to find the food cold and essentially not edible. Brought this to the attention of the staff having put a bit of bacon, sausage and hash brown on my plate and asked that they sort it out -I think they just shoved it in the microwave-not impressed.
So a little attention to detail would have made all the difference... In a competitive market breakfast definitely failed to reach the mark and wish we had hit town for a cafe breakfast with great coffee. Not the cheapest place to stay but convenient.

Room Tip: all rooms facing the city would be great i think
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent feedback about your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel in Dunedin.Your feedback is important so we can strive to meet our guest expectations so that everyone reccomends us.I am pleased you found the hotel location staff and rooms to your liking. Regarding your feedback about breakfast buffet, I will be addressing this with our food and beverage team to review our processes we have in place regarding breakfast service.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin on your next trip to the South Island.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

overall we had a pleasant stay friendly staff we will recommend to our friends room is nice and tidy.walking distance to city beds are comfortable will stay again.thank you Kingsgate hotel make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violetsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I am pleased that our team met your expectations and you found them friendly and attentitive.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dunedin

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a city centre hotel close to the cathedral and we had a room with a view. There are car parking spaces on site and this was a key consideration in booking the hotel (note: the number of spaces is limited and based on first come first served). Rooms are adequate without frills and the hotel was clean. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep - undisturbed by any noise. There is a good sized fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Internet access is available at a charge in the rooms via fixed cable. There is WiFi in the lobby and restaurant, although on our visit it was not accessible.
Overall this is not a luxury hotel and you are not paying luxury hotel prices - was ok for the money but we would avoid the restaurant if we stayed again.

Impressions of a hotel you've not stayed in before start at reception and on this occasion we were not particularly made to feel welcome. Perhaps the person on reception spoke too soon when they said we were not on the system and implied we had no reservation - and then discovered it.
We elected to eat in the hotel restaurant as the menu seemed inviting. The reality was somewhat different. The hotel had a large party in that evening for a buffet. The restaurant had an interesting 3D effect carving on the back wall, everything else was quite basic - paper napkins cheap knifes and forks. We ordered with slight difficulty as the girl seemed to lack basic knowledge of what the chef was knocking out. Not searching questions mind you, just basic queries. Even ordering a glass of wine wasn't straightforward. The hotel had a wine of the month offer on but the server was unaware of this so we had to order more expensive wine (this was rectified later when I showed her the offer).
With regret I have to say this was one of the worst meals I've ever had and my partner didn't fare much better. The main courses were pretty tasteless and the lamb dish was far too fatty. Breakfast was just ok.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments are important to us and help towards we meet our customers expectations. On this occasion it has highlighted some processes that need to be refreshed within the team I can assurs you we will be addrssing these.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the kIngsgate hotel on your next visit to Dunedin

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great location for getting about the city, staff were really helpful. Rooms were clean, cosy and comfortable. Overall we enjoyed our stay as it was for one night and a hotel room met all our needs for this purpose.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Your feedback is important so we can strive to ensure everyone reccomends us. I am pleased that team met your customer expectations.

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing