We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a very central location, close to the Octagen but on a steep street. The staff were friendly. The rooms are dated, the furniture is new but the walls and ceilings could be painted. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms had a mini bar and tea and coffee. There was no plunger coffee only instant.
We got a package that included breakfast so each day we had a cooked breakfast made to order and then you could also help yourself to cereals , fruit , pastries and coffee. The breakfast was the same each day so if you want a variety you could walk into town as many cafes served breakfast. There was 20 mins free wifi each day but you had to go to the reception area to use it and there were only limited chairs and so many people wee standing in a small area trying to use the wifi. Overall , great location very central and you can walk to lots of things. If you have a car there is free parking but there are only limited spaces.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor for the views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaynz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank-you for you feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. Your feedback is important to us so that we can continue to analyse ourselves, to ensure we are delivering above our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate hotel during your next visit to Dunedin.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently and will definitely return next visit to Dunedin. Rates are not cheap and there are cheaper options close by however it was worth it. The rooms are large and faultlessly clean. Staff's attitudes were mixed. Most were very friendly and keen to help however there were a couple of moody receptionists. Guess they were having a bad day.
The internet access is the main problem for me. You were only allocated 20 free access per day and you had to sit in the foyer area. Even there the reception wasn't very good. Problematic just to get connected. If you needed more access there was a substantial charge. Really this was very surprising. What on earth is the management thinking about. Having travelled extensively this is the first time I have experienced this miserable attitude towards internet access - particularly considering the nightly tariff charge. Used the restaurant once - that was enough. Would not recommend going there. Food very ordinary - menu sounds good but food quality doesn't back it up.
Primarily the location was the BIG advantage. Very close to everything. The library is opposite and there they offer free internet for 30 minute periods. Best option.

Room Tip: Happy with my room and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi-child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel in Dunedin. Your feedback is important so that we can continue to review our operation and our service we provide to our guests.The team at the hotel has a strong focus on customer service and achieving guest satisfaction so our team will be reminded of this. We are currently reviewing the policy regarding how best we can deliver Internet service to our guests with our external provider and hope to have some changes in place shortly. Once again thank you for your feedabck and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dunedin and the Kingsgate Hotel in the future.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, walking distance to Octagon where lots of restaurants are located. Modern interior and bathroom. Nice bright north facing room and quiet no traffic noise. Warm rooms comfy beds.Parking on site spaces at front best as those at rear of building are steep. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank 67TravelBug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable and the location ideal for your stay. Your feedback is important to us so we can continue to review our operation, so thank you for taking the time comment on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunedin and the Kingsgate Hotel on your next trip to the South Island.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. This time for two days, so I could have a proper look before writing a review. I asked the reception for a silent room and I mentioned that last time my room was a bit dated.

I would like to say that the hotel took into account some of my requests and I received a silent room and late checkout (from 10.00 am to 11.00 am). Yes, the standard checkout at the hotel is 10 am. However, the room was dated, which means that quality of all of the rooms at the hotel is low.

The hotel has quite convenient location - everything is close. The price which I paid after discounts from the website recommended by Tripadvisor was really attractive (below $100). The price-match policy does not work btw, so it is pointless to book directly with the hotel. I would recommend to book using websites mentioned on Tripadvisor and use commonly accessible discount vouchers - that way you will pay less and save some money on credit card charges (surcharge).

Reception was good and not good. The duty manager was efficient. However, a receptionist was working slowly and was not really friendly or unfriendly either.

The rooms are pretty outdated, with tiny bath tubes (however, it's good that they offer bath tubes - permanent scratched looked disgusting though). TV set in the room iss located that you can watch it from a balcony, but not from a bed. They provide complimentary tea/coffee and a jug. The jug was so discounting - green and dirty. Photo of the jug's hole attached. A fridge in the room looked really dated and corroded. The lift has probably 50 years - it is so slow and so noisy.

Why then backpackers standard? They don't provide a duvet - they provide only a white sheet and a blanket, which is typical for low standard hotels and twin rooms at backpackers.

Housekeeping did not change the sheets, only tidy up the room, which was a bit disappointing as well.

Cost of internet is really disappointing higher than in the 5-star hotels. It's like $12.50 for 2 hours (50 MB) or $25 for 24 hours (500 MB). If you want to do any job related tasks, you will end up with quite a lot to pay for the internet.

In general the hotel does the job, but don't expect high quality. For $30 more, you can get a 5-star hotel in Auckland or Gold Coast, so the management should really reconsider they way of working in Dunedin. Especially that this is part of Millennium Hotels. I know that there are not many hotels in Dunedin, but if they want to gain more visitors, they need to offer a bit more - I think that the hotel has a potential, its a matter of paying attention to details and some R&M expenses.

I will stay at this hotel probably again in 2 months, to check whether they take seriously customers opinions, but it maybe the last time at this hotel. Next time I will try their restaurant, maybe at least food is valuable (they have a good deal for $12 for Eggs Benedict's and .a hash brown - but I havent tried.)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacek_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. Your feedback is important to us so that we can continue to review our operations and customer service to our guests.The hotel has electric blankets on all it's beds and also has extra balnkets available for guests if required. We have a Duty manager on Duty 24 hours so if extra blankets are required through the night guests can call reception to have them delivered. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate Hotel in Dunedin in the near future and please feel free to contact me to dicuss your next stay in Dunedin.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed one night in March 2014.
Was close to town, but a steep walk back to the hotel.
Our room was at the rear of the main hotel entrance and was a long walk with our bags in tow.
Room was OK and clean.
Breakfast was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjc195410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. It is important to recieve feedback so that we continue to strive to be a leader in the hospitality industry.Since your recent comment we have reviewed our breakfast service and implemented a new format for our guests which seems to be working well for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate Hotel when you next return to Dunedin.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The city is bigger than we expected with lots of one-way streets so we were grateful for our sat nav to find the hotel in the heart of the city, just above the Octagon (the main hub). The hotel is perched high above the city, close to St Paul's Cathedral and the First Church of Dunedin. The city views from our room were great and most of the main attractions are within easy walking distance (even if uphill on the way back). We also enjoyed a drive out to Amarouna where we walked along the beautiful sheltered sandy bay.

The room was quiet, well equipped and a good size. It had only one bed so there was plenty of space compared with many similar NZ hotels that insist on cramming 2 beds into a space that often isn't really big enough. The false alarm fire evacuation at 11pm was highly amusing and handled by staff, guests and fire brigade alike with good humour.

Check-in staff were very polite and helpful and booked a dusk visit to the Penguin Sanctuary for us (well worth the trip at a cost of $49pp but a very winding 40-45 minute drive along the water's edge). On our late return at 9pm from the sanctuary, the hotel restaurant staff were still happy to see us and were very friendly and efficient and the food was surprisingly good and well priced by hotel standards (huge and delicious surf and turf). The buffet breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms above Reception have great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank-you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay both at the hotel and your time in Dunedin. We apologise for the fire evacutation but are pleased you saw the funny side of this. We hope you had a safe trip back to the UK and hope to see you again back in Dunedin one day.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. It's in a great location, close to a lot of pubs and restaurants. Nice size room with nice amenities. Their is a hotel restaurant inside, and they have a decent breakfast buffet. I definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheMillPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank-you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate hotel Dunedin.We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the breakfast selection.Thank you for your feedback on our team at the Kingsgate hotel we pride ourselves on customer service and stirve to ensure that everyone reccomends us.We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunedin and the Kingsgate hotel in the future.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing