We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 29 April 2005

This hotel is dated and in need of some serious upgrading. In the first room the shower would only run hot, really hot! The clock didn't work either. The bathrooms are very old fashioned - really 1970's. The hotel gave us another room, but then the modem connection didn't work. The rooms allowed noise in from both the street and adjacent rooms, which was quite intrusive at times. The breakfast choice was good, but the hot food was generally lukewarm. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant. The staff were good at trying to fix the problems we had, but were fighting a bit of an uphill battle. The location is close to the city centre, but it is quite a climb up. Not suitable for the infirm.
Overall, we wished we had booked somewhere else and wouldn't recommend this hotel until it gets a facelift.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2006

Agree - happy to advise that as of 17 July 2006 we are 75% through complete bathroom refurbishment including imported granite vanity units, new tiling form floor to ceiling and everything else in all bathroom brand new. Bathroom refurbishment will be completed by end of October 2006.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 407 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
47
Reviewed 13 October 2004

Great location and good value for this price range. Provided use of Les Milles gym. The bathroom was plucked from the 60's or something and small, but was clean and adequate. Room had a pleasant view of hills and homes. Liked the small sofa in room.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2003

Very comfortable rooms, well maintained although exterior could do with a paint job, small lobby, nice restaurant, room service food excellent. overall a very good hotel.

4  Thank oldmikeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle987, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Alon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 上層階がいいですね!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ビスケット
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing