We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A NICE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Invercargill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT A NICE STAY”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Terrible parking as in about 20 parks for entire hotel. We had to park on st and pay as they were all taken... not suprising for such a big hotel! Went up to room which was down the end of a horrible hallway, alot of noise from street was heard during day and night. Walls not sound proof as we could hear our neighbours easily. Reasonably big rooms with a little double bed!! Decor looks like its from the 70's. Spiderwebs on the roof. No lighting in main part of room apart from 2 bedside lights, 1 lamp stand and 1 table lamp so very very poor. Had a coffee and milk was rotten. Expiry date was OCT however this muct have been left in the heat or something as we tried four different milk packages and they all floated chunky bits!!! Cups had been cleaned with strong chemicals that could be smelt and tasted revolting. Had to go to coffee shop and buy a decent coffee!!! Upon checking out were told room hadn't been paid for. Room was purchased through grab a night (a gift from my parents) using their credit card, however we were told it wasn't charged through as its through a third party!!!! We ended up paying for the room!!!!!
Overall I didn't enjoy this stay one bit and we actually left before 9 as couldn't wait to get out.
Would never go back or recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    167
    126
    26
    11
See reviews for
75
144
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otago, NZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Hotel was a farely oldish and in need of a few upgrades. And parking can be a mission!. But if you're after a general nothing flashy but does the job kind of hotel close to town than this is for you.

Its definitely not the flashed hotel but i enjoyed having the balcony and over looking the city. it was quite relaxing.

I'd definitely stay here again for its location.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmonicasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This hotel is not easy to find. We used GPS to find the address, yet we missed the building a couple of times. Later on we were told by another guest that the GPS unit may find it difficult to determine the location due to the design of the city.
First impression of the hotel: very limited parking available. They have two locations for car park, at the entrance (probably fit 8 or so cars), and at the exit. There is a bigger car park right next to the hotel, but that's not for hotel guests. Make sure you don't park your car there.
Upon checking in, we noticed the hotel is a bit tired looking. There is only one lift, and it's very slow. It's probably quicker if you take the stairs. The room is small, and the king size bed is smaller than what we normally have in other hotels. There is no air conditioning in the room, and it was quite a warm day when we checked in.
The hotel itself is only a couple of minutes of walking from the Octagon. Cinema, Internet Cafes and library are nearby.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This hotel is in a great position in the city centre. Rooms are quite roomy and comfortable, bed was average, they need new pillows. The staff however were something else, from the initial check in, not very friendly or hospitable, I felt I was imposing and should be somewhere else. Information requested was slow to come to hand. The breakfast was a half buffet whatever that means but charged at full price, the bacon was burnt and hidden so as not to be noticed, one egg was obviously pre-cooked and therefore dried out. Not acceptable by any standards. When I told them of this they really couldn't have cared less. Ordering one glass of wine in the bar area was a marathon effort and then I was charged for two not one, a paid phone call on arrival home and I was begrudgingly given a refund and a curt goodbye.

  • Liked — Room size was good for this chain of hotels
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwikidNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

The Kingsgate is an older place in need of a makeover. We were a bit put off by booking a non-smoking room and having to walk down the closed in, and very obviously smoking hallway to get to our room. They would be much better putting the smoking rooms at the end of the hall!! The hotel was quite good despite that, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Staff were friendly and the breakfasts were large enough to keep us going for a while.

  • Liked — It was in a great location
  • Disliked — Walking down the smoking hall to get to the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SnuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

This, and I still have to pinch myself, is one of the better hotels in Dunedin. It is maybe 3.5 stars by New Zealand standards, but 2 star at best by world norms. You have to stay there to believe it, it is like the West of Ireland 25 years ago.

It is very low quality accomodation, though staff are friendly. breakfast is poor with that horrible fatty ham that passes as breakfast bacon, great yoghurt, good muesli, canned juice. It should be priced at 50% of what it is priced at. I can't say there is any better accomodation in the town though, so probably go to a B&B.

We found we could walk round the centre of Dunedin from it, but there is little to do or shop for , and you leave with a feeling of sorrow for the folk that live there. What a dump Dunedin is, the main streets are like a shanty town, if there hadn't been the rugby match between the Springboks and the ABs we wouldn't have gone near the place.

Like the Kiwis though , very decent folk, but their life seems hard and crude and I can't ever recall cans of beer being thrown around a rugby match , and at the visiting teams bench! What!

  • Liked — Could walk to the centre of Dunedin
  • Disliked — It is in Dunedin, and that town is a dump
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-Danon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Got to this hotel after a 10 hour drive along Southern Scenic Highway. Beware one way system that the hotel is in. Made very welcome at front desk and room was just what was needed after long drive.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — One Way System
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#46 of 61 in Dunedin
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#50 of 61 in Dunedin
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing