We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

We stayed at the Kingsgate Dunedin for 2 nights. As mentioned the hotel has a great location 5 minutes up the hill from the Octagon (center of town). (I find that in general, the CDL hotels are not flash but usually centrally located). It's functional and good value, the bathrooms have been nicely refurbished and are spick and span.

I got a rate of $119 for a twin room which included breakfast for 2 which is not bad. We had room 202 in which we were able to access the Wifi internet access, that was operating in their lounge down below our room, on our laptop. I think it was because we already had an Xtra account though.

The Hungry French man restaurant at the Octagon in the municipal building was a good restaurant, mid to top range price.

  • Liked — Location, new bathroom
  • Disliked — Steep carparks
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank yeowon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    164
    124
    26
    11
See reviews for
75
141
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

We stayed at the Kingsgate Dunedin for one night in Feb 07. Our overall impression was that we got pretty good value for money - the hotel was clean and generally in good order.
Parking can be something of an issue as there is limited space for hotel guests - best advice: get there early!
Our room was on the top floor and was hard to fault in terms of space, comfort and cleanliness. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
I would best describe the hotel as 'functional' - that is to say it provides pretty much everything you could want from a city centre hotel, without being in any way dazzling.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes' walk from the Octagon, which is the heart of the city. Plenty of shops to look around and plenty of decent places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank Waggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2006

Tired looking but clean Kingsgate. Good views over the city on the higher floors. Decorations look 30+yrs old. Furniture a better. Internet only available via modem if you have a local service provider. Restaurant typically expensive, but pub grub (speights) available ½ mile away. Bottle of complimentary wine provided, as it was our wedding anniversary holiday.
Breakfast available at $14 each.
City centre no more than 10 mins walk away. Noisy at night with city traffic (boy racers) – also locals in bar rowdy. Went on until 0400-0500, reception stated they had not had any previous complaints, but I could not believe that. The town centre is very nice, shopping wise but spoilt by seemingly endless youngsters racing around in their noisey cars.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2005

This hotel is dated and in need of some serious upgrading. In the first room the shower would only run hot, really hot! The clock didn't work either. The bathrooms are very old fashioned - really 1970's. The hotel gave us another room, but then the modem connection didn't work. The rooms allowed noise in from both the street and adjacent rooms, which was quite intrusive at times. The breakfast choice was good, but the hot food was generally lukewarm. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant. The staff were good at trying to fix the problems we had, but were fighting a bit of an uphill battle. The location is close to the city centre, but it is quite a climb up. Not suitable for the infirm.
Overall, we wished we had booked somewhere else and wouldn't recommend this hotel until it gets a facelift.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 16 July 2006
Agree - happy to advise that as of 17 July 2006 we are 75% through complete bathroom refurbishment including imported granite vanity units, new tiling form floor to ceiling and everything else in all bathroom brand new. Bathroom refurbishment will be completed by end of October 2006.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2004

Great location and good value for this price range. Provided use of Les Milles gym. The bathroom was plucked from the 60's or something and small, but was clean and adequate. Room had a pleasant view of hills and homes. Liked the small sofa in room.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2003

Very comfortable rooms, well maintained although exterior could do with a paint job, small lobby, nice restaurant, room service food excellent. overall a very good hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank oldmikeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#35 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#43 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing