We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic”

Taieri Gorge Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.53*
and up
Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin
Ranked #3 of 50 Tours in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A highlight of your visit to Dunedin is a trip on the Taieri Gorge Railway - one of the world's great train trips and one of Dunedin's top attractions. Departing daily from downtown Dunedin into the Taieri Gorge, this trip travels through some of New Zealand's most beautiful and ever changing scenery which can not seen from the road! With sightseeing stops, on board cafe, outside viewing platforms it is the perfect all weather activity and one of the key attractions in Dunedin - not to be missed.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed this trip. Did the 4hr round trip to Pukerangi and back to Dunedin. Well serviced and very informative. definitely worth doing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Taieri Gorge Railway. We are glad you had a good trip and hope that we might see you back another time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    420
    129
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A walk on the old railway”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've been on the Taieri Gorge Railway several times and always enjoy it. Usually its a passive experience as you sit in the old train and admire the views of the Gorge, but earlier this month there was an opportunity to experience the scenery on foot by walking from Flat Stream to Machine Creek. It was a fine winter's day as we walked over several of the old bridges and through three tunnels, saw wild goats and a variety of birds. It is no wonder the Taieri Gorge Railway is so popular with tourists; you can't help admiring the way the men of yesteryear put this railway through difficult country to open up Central Otago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello and thanks for posting on trip advisor! This was the 'Walk the Gorge' trip which is a once a year event - giving passengers the chance to see the gorge on foot! This is usually done every March or April.
We are pleased you enjoyed your day out - it is a wonderful experience.
Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A time gone by...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Amazing scenery, comfy train of a time gone by, good toilet facilities, food car, really lovely service. Is a time to sit back and relax with family, watch the beautiful NZ scenery fly by.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonda_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi there - thanks for taking the time to review Taieri Gorge Railway. We are pleased you had a good trip with us - it is indeed a time gone by.
Hope to see you back again another time.
Thanks
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip around Taieri”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My nana and grandad took me on this train ride I had never been on a train and I have lived in Dunedin my live so had a great time and hope to do it again some day

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dobscon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi - thank you for jumping onto Trip Advisor and posting a review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your trip with us and hope your Grandparents did too!
See you next time!
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“On the right track”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went from Dunedin on the a tour booked from the station.......it included lunch, drinks and afternoon tea plus excellent service and a guided tour.
Well worth the little extra rather than just catching the train.....

Fab scenery and lots of stops to take in the views.

Get on the right track and take a tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello and thank you so much for your trip advisor review and advice to future travellers. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip with us and also hope to see you back another time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taieri Gorge Railway also viewed

 

Been to Taieri Gorge Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing